Playing With Nails


Wow.  I can’t believe that the rush, rush post I put up the other day just to “try out” something on the sidebar when you first publish a post garnered more views than the post I had worked on for a few hours.  “Just Playing” is a beautiful poem and is well worth, no worth more than the views it got.

Today, I’m just going to post pictures of my latest nail design.  Nothing intricate (yet) but I want to keep it out there so that I can continue to build upon it.

These colors are:  1. Base color: Sinful Colors, Sugar Sugar #839.  A pearlized red with just a hint of sparkle inside.  Gives complete coverage in 1 coat which makes it a great base coat when you need your base to be pretty much dried before going on to layering.  2. Confetti, Dance Party Pink #017, 3. Sinful Colors, Tokyo Pearl #112,  4. NK, Mystical #021 which is the glitter overcoat on the ring fingers for accent.  All nails get a top coat of whatever clear polish I have on hand at the time.

I am really liking this design and what I can do with it.   I’d like to place accent a few different things (at different times) on the outside edge of the nail, on top of the white pearl stripe.  For Christmas I’d put three red rhinestones and paint green holly leaves, fanning outward.  Another option is to place a single large silver rhinestone in the same place, or a pink bow, or just about anything you’d like.

Not the best job because it was rushed, but I’m pleased with it.  I can really see that my nails grew crooked which was probably due to my constantly biting at my fingers.  I have screwed up nail beds and my nails are actually growing slanted on my second and fourth fingers.

UPDATE 1/21/12:  I just noticed that the thin stripe is tinted pinkish, while the true color is a white pearl.  I’m pretty sure that I got this effect because I put on the clear top coat a little sooner than I normally would because it was getting late.  I wasn’t going for this, but it compliments the design nicely without standing out.

I rushed last night to finish this design because I’ll be busy tonight and we were scheduled to visit my brother’s family.  It was to be our “Sedita Christmas”.  Well, as it turns out, today we are all sneezing our heads off and the weather is threatening to put a damper on our plans.  The right is something close to 2.5 hours long to get there and the weatherman says we’d be driving in snow all day long and when we come back.  The first real snow of the season and it has to be TOMORROW.  While I’m glad and look forward to it, we are missing my brother’s family.  Well, I can console myself thinking that it’s for the best and that our being under the weather didn’t have to be the primary reason for this cancellation AND hopefully next weekend will bring us together at last.  LOVE YOU~!

About Debbie Kosiarski

I am a wife and mother of an amazing eight year old boy. When school starts, I don the hat of “advocate”. This is very new to me and so, like everything else in my life right now, a necessary transition. I can see already that I will be honing my communication skills as well as sharpening my assertiveness. I am married to an amazing man, who, spoils me to no end. Not in a material way... NO I'm wrong. When he can, he does spoil me materially as he is well acquainted with my infatuation and love all electronic gadgets. I am a self professed EGG, “Electronic Gadget Groupie.” The most important way he spoils me is with taking over attending to our son's needs. My eye has always been caught by sparkly things, the beautiful, and the unique.

Posted on Friday, January 20, 2012 ~, in Creativity, Nails and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Tell the Dragon what you think.... Any opinions?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 113 other followers

