MIA For Awhile…


Watch out, or your face will FREEZE that way

Wow… seems that some people HAVE been reading~!  Aw, this is my little guy towards the end of 2006.  Oh wow, that made him a few months shy of two years old.

Sooo, thought I’d do something that I’ve never done before.  I’m letting you know that I will not be anywhere near the internet for the next few days, into next week.  My antenna will be up and hopefully I will return here with a post or two.

I’ve come across some amazing blogs lately and I will miss reading them, but looking forward to catching up when I get back. No major vacation or anything.  We’ll just be in and out, visiting with family, like my dad who is only in Pennsylvania but might as well be in the Tasmanian desert, under a rock.  We tried to get them connected, if even with just an email gadget to send/receive pics and keep in touch with email.  Two months ago my dad FINALLY bought a laptop, but returned it TWO days later because he got frustrated getting the cable connection hooked up… Whaaaaaat?  ugh.  He really should’ve called someone who could walk him through this.  Now he’ll never get one, grrrrrrr!

Tomorrow we will be visiting some of the in-laws.  They are really nice people and we so rarely see each other.  Just found out that one of the grandchildren has gotten bitten by the knitting bug.  Knitting, crochet… all the same.  It’s all fibery goodness. If you remember, I said that I needed to drastically cull my stash.  This has proved quite the opportunity.  So much I feel that I cannot part with, but because it was going to family, and a young person at that.  Anything to nurture the craft.  It was so easy to pick out yarn, the more expensive stuff.  There is still a lot, I realized today, that I simply could not part with and I told myself, “I don’t know what she likes. I don’t know what colors she likes. I don’t know what weight yarn she likes to work with,” and well, you get the picture.  I could go on and on rationalizing why not to put more in the box.  I can’t wait to talk to this girl who I have watched grow up, but have never really spoken to.  Her family has SHEEP on their farm, the dad is a master beekeeper…Biology~! Now THIS is the stuff I love to talk about.  My brain will be tickled pink and I will be loving it. Yeah, I’m even bringing some knitting books.  I just wish I knew remembered this sooner.  I only had a couple hours to ransack my stash, but I have tons of patterns I could give her. Will just have to wait for another time.  If I knew what tools she needs, I could also have put some of those aside.  Yeah.  Again, I am putting myself into the hero role… You know, like I’m the only one who can make this happen.  You know, it’s ALREADY happening because she’s already knitting and maybe doing crochet. I hate my ego sometimes.  Well, the times that it’s so obvious that I can’t help but see it.

One thing I want to see if I can do while away, but doubt it without the internet, is attaching photo credits to pics that are not mine.  I never thought much of using someone else’s pics, but I realize that it’s just not right.  I figured it was okay because the internet is so open, and I never claimed them for my own; but I was thinking today about how I never post my poetry for just this specific reason and it just hit me that I was doing the same thing and how wrong it really is to post without at least linking to the original site.  Monumental task since this blog has been around since 2005.  So, I apologize to everyone out there who has had their content stolen and credit misplaced to a stranger.  I’m going to try to right the situation and will probably replace some pics with my own.

Have a great rest of the weekend and into the week.  Meet ya on the other side…

About dragonmommie

I am a wife and mother of an amazing eight year old boy. When school starts, I don the hat of “advocate”. This is very new to me and so, like everything else in my life right now, a necessary transition. I can see already that I will be honing my communication skills as well as sharpening my assertiveness. I am married to an amazing man, who, spoils me to no end. Not in a material way... NO I'm wrong. When he can, he does spoil me materially as he is well acquainted with my infatuation and love all electronic gadgets. I am a self professed EGG, “Electronic Gadget Groupie.” The most important way he spoils me is with taking over attending to our son's needs. My eye has always been caught by sparkly things, the beautiful, and the unique.

Posted on Sunday, August 18, 2013 ~, in Family, Life and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Tell the Dragon what you think.... Any opinions?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 114 other followers

