Dark Side of the Moon…


DSCN3437

Yep, haven’t been here in a while, then TWO posts within 24 hours.  You never know what’s going to happen over here.  I’m totally unpredictable even to myself.  Anyway, I just have to post about a new-to-me nail polish brand, an AMAZING new product I’m using, and my current mani.  Maybe I can name this “Purple Haze” or “Dark Side of the Moon?”  Opinions and any suggestions are most welcome.  Please leave me a comment because I’d really like to document this design with the colors I used here.

DSCN3443Now on to this new-to-me amazing product I’m using, Seche Vite.  It’s very popular out there, but a little hard for me to find in my area despite having quite a bit of beauty supply places around my area.  Seche Vite is a quick drying top coat that is a must have for those who love to layer on the polish for intricate designs.  I mean this stuff dries into a hard, smooth shell in a matter of literally minutes.  My nails have ridges, so the surface of two or three coats of nail polish still have that ridge imprint.  One coat of Seche Vite, albeit goes on pretty thick, eliminates the ridge look and creates a mirror smooth finish, and I freaking LOVE that~!  I’ve not pushed the envelop yet to see how many coats I can get on, but so far, I’ve put it on over three full coats of nail polish and it gets pretty hard in that time.  I can go to the bathroom (pretty big consideration) and not worry about wrecking my mani while in there.   Usually, I have to put on two, three or more coats of just top coat to get this same effect.  The smell of it reminds me of something else.  It harkens me back to the old days of hanging around my dad while he worked on house renovation stuff and repair work.  Varnish?  Shellac?  Not sure what, I’m definitely making my dad smell this bottle to solve the mystery.  BTW, this little bottle cost me $7.99 in the Northeast Coast area of the United States and I’m glad I did buy it.  You have to understand that I’m a $1.99 kinda girl, so this little bottle is THE most expensive polish I have in my storage box of nail polish.  The highest I ever went was for something like $2.98 or a little higher for high end stuff on clearance, so……

My girlfriend told me about Seche Vite MONTHS ago and I did purchase Seche Clear, which doesn’t do the same thing, but is also good and I use it for either a top or base coat. It’s taken me this long to finally get the right stuff but now it will be a staple in my collection.

DSCN3448

Now I simply must talk about the pink and purple polishes in the above pic.  The brand is called “Ruby Kisses” and these bottles say “HD” on the label, which I am thinking it means showing dimension.  The pink one is “Pink Blinged Out” and is beautiful and does show dimension; but the purple one, which is called, “Bold and the Beautiful”, while IS beautiful, is VERY dark and almost looks black under normal lighting.  The pic above was snapped with a flash and this color was a total surprise to me; and in the sun, it’s more of a really dark Indigo.  The most amazing thing about these is the coverage.  You only need one coat for total, and I mean TOTAL coverage.  My thumbnails are much longer than my other ones so I did need more polish for those, but still only needed one coat.  What I also love is the unique tops.  See the holes in the covers?  These babies were hung onto racks.  I want to say racks but I’m almost sure that was not what they were.  You know, they were more like those long hooks that cosmetics are hung on to.  In thought it was cool.  Drumroll for the price………………  $1.98.

DSCN3436

For for this mani, I used a base coat, then the “Bold and the Beautiful” as my base color.  After that was dry, I took a makeup sponge and swiped on Confetti in “Blue Bombshell” and the  “Pink Blinged Out” right next to each other and proceeded to just dab my fingernail at the top, pink color at the tip and blue underneath.  The very dark base color made it hard for the other colors to show through and so I needed to reapply a couple of times.  I never did get the opaqueness I desired, but I’m very happy with the results I got which were very subtle color changes in regular light, which were more apparent in sunlight.  Also, I made sure the tips were solidly colored.

I think the next nail post I’ll do will be on the blogs and You tube nail channels I follow, so keep an eye out for that.

 

September 30, 2013, edited to add:

So, I just decided to name this mani “Dark Side of the Moon” and will use this label on my notes.  Not for any reason, but that it just hit me.  Nobody really knows what’s on the dark side of the moon, and now I know.

About Debbie Kosiarski

I am a wife and mother of an amazing eight year old boy. When school starts, I don the hat of “advocate”. This is very new to me and so, like everything else in my life right now, a necessary transition. I can see already that I will be honing my communication skills as well as sharpening my assertiveness. I am married to an amazing man, who, spoils me to no end. Not in a material way... NO I'm wrong. When he can, he does spoil me materially as he is well acquainted with my infatuation and love all electronic gadgets. I am a self professed EGG, “Electronic Gadget Groupie.” The most important way he spoils me is with taking over attending to our son's needs. My eye has always been caught by sparkly things, the beautiful, and the unique.

Posted on Saturday, September 28, 2013 ~, in Creativity, Life, Nails and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. Pingback: On the Bright Side… | DragonMommie's World

Tell the Dragon what you think.... Any opinions?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 114 other followers

