On the Bright Side…


tumblr_mdedtgqYx71r7p1xeo1_500

Wow, another nail post.  I just wanted to document my latest attempt with the technique I used for my last mani design at, Dark Side of the Moon.  I should also state that I found it on Pinterest, but you can go directly to Beauty Tutorials, Ombre Stain Nails.  I should first state that the reason for my all-too-quick change up of colors is that I experienced major chipping yesterday and the first time, I did manage an excellent repair, the next day other nails chipped and they were BIG pieces of chipped off nail color.  So, this could be because of the Seche Vite, I’m not convinced that it was because of it alone.  If you remember, Seche Vite goes on very thick; BUT this was the first time it happened since I got the product, over a month ago.  It could be a combination of SV and layered nail color, or maybe that I combined lacquer and enamel together.

I had the idea to use a dark brown cream for the base, with orange and dark green colors dabbed into it.  I hated how it came out, except for me thumbs, which are longer than the rest of my nails.  With this post I will also update on the “how many coats can I put on before Seche Vite stops working” question.

DSCN3465

So, I started off with a favorite base coat, then used Kleancolor Nail Lacquer, Dark Brown #52 (Above, second from left).  In the bottle, this looks dark brown, but on my nail, looked really dark, almost black.  I love how this goes on very smooth.  After my nail color was totally dry, I snipped another piece of my make up sponge and swiped on two colors, Kleancolor Nail Lacquer, Metallic Orange #160 (Above, left middle), and Wet n Wild Fastdry, SaGreena the Teenage Witch, #226C (Above, right middle)… then a third color, which I never do, but it blended nice with the green color and that was Wet n Wild Fastdry, Teal of Fortune. #228C (Above, second from right).  This last one was a glitter polish.  Okay, so on the whole I did not like this last finished product; though more because of my lack of skill and not the colors, themselves.  As you can see, I left my thumbs as is because I loved how they came out.

I was gonna leave it, I was gonna leave it……..

DSCN3458

Two nails on the right show off the matt finish of the Sinful Colors, Leather Loose and the two nails on the left have the Seche Vite top coat.

But no. The itch to change it was too much.  I resolved to just cover this up with one color and leave it.  I used two coats of Wet n Wild Fastdry, Gray’s Anatomy, #237C, only on my last four digits.  I really love how this stuff looks in the bottle.  It’s a real almost sick green/gray with pink pearlized look.  I really really like it, but alas, it did not coordinate well with my thumbs.  I dared take another color, Sinful Colors, Leather Loose, #1331.  This worked out very well and what I really like about this polish is that it dries to a matt finish, which I love, yet I don’t feel right if I don’t add a top coat.. and when you do, all these reddish brown sparklies emerge and gives it a whole new finished, sparkly look which was complete with yet another coat of Seche Vite.  So let’s recap on just how much polish I have on my nails right now:

DSCN3461

This is the finished look and you can see that I left the thumb’s design alone from the prior mani with brown, orange and green.

  1. Seche Clear as base coat
  2. Kleancolor Nail Lacquer, Dark Brown #52
  3. (not a whole coat) dabbed on colors on upper half of nails: Kleancolor Nail Lacquer, Metallic Orange #160, Wet n Wild Fastdry, SaGreena the Teenage Witch, #226C, Wet n Wild Fastdry, Teal of Fortune. #228C
  4. Seche Vite
  5. Wet n Wild Fastdry, Gray’s Anatomy, #237C on last four digits only.
  6. Sinful Colors, Leather Loose, #1331 on last four digits only.
  7. Seche Vite

So, that’s roughly seven coats of nail polish and Seche Vite STILL dried to a nice mirror smooth, hard shell in just a couple of minutes.  That’s pretty impressive and so now you can see why I freakishly love this stuff and will always find a way to get it.

DSCN3467

In the foreground, we have the photo taken with a flash to show off the subtleties of these polishes. On left, Sinful Colors, Leather Loose, showing off the reddish brown sparkles, and the Wet n Wild, Gray’s Anatomy.

About Debbie Kosiarski

I am a wife and mother of an amazing eight year old boy. When school starts, I don the hat of “advocate”. This is very new to me and so, like everything else in my life right now, a necessary transition. I can see already that I will be honing my communication skills as well as sharpening my assertiveness. I am married to an amazing man, who, spoils me to no end. Not in a material way... NO I'm wrong. When he can, he does spoil me materially as he is well acquainted with my infatuation and love all electronic gadgets. I am a self professed EGG, “Electronic Gadget Groupie.” The most important way he spoils me is with taking over attending to our son's needs. My eye has always been caught by sparkly things, the beautiful, and the unique.

Posted on Thursday, October 3, 2013 ~, in Creativity, Nails, Product Review and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. That design on your thumb is impressive! If only I had such mani skills… :)

Tell the Dragon what you think.... Any opinions?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 114 other followers

