Knit, Crochet & Oooooo Looms!


Well, I have a few minutes and wanted to post something about my yarn-life, or I should say the life of my yarn. I love to explore yarn crafts and the first thing I wanted to do is share with you a site that I like, Bev’s Blog Spot…. and… voila…there is the link! We are supposed to get to a street fair today in Westfield. I love them and THIS is the weather for it. There is also a nice knitting shop there that I’ll get to go to. Usually can’t because I have Gabriel in the stroller and the shop is on the second floor. Today, they should be hopefully will be in the street, or I”l be able to go up myself.

Currently, I am working on my precious preemie hats; and just started a project for my friend of fingerless opera gloves. This is new for me on the needles… and I have lots of ideas for the fine touches. I wanted to work both of them at one time on one pair of circular needles. This is my thing now. If I can find a pair of really long-cabled needles today, then I’ll be in business. Otherwise I’ll stick with doing them both on two needles, which is no big deal, I just wanted to try out the new technique. Shoot, I may never get there because the drake took the babe out for a walk because he was so cranky. That drake and I are sometimes on opposite pages. They are still not back, Gabriel STILL needs to have his lunch and the fair goes up to 5pm and it’s 1:51pm right now…. GRRRR! [I wish this theme had options for text colors.]

Hear are two pics of my first batch of Preemie Hats:

Chairload of Preemie Hats
>>>>>>>—-and a few special ones———>

Unique Preemie Hats

Ah, that was just me fiddling around with different looks/techniques to quell the boredom.  I love to modify just about anything in order to see if I can make it better or different.  Hey, you never know!   2:08pm and they are still not back.  Me thinks the drake just didn’t want to go and couldn’t bring himself to say so.  I guess the day is pretty much shot… boo boo for me.

About dragonmommie

I am a wife and mother of an amazing eight year old boy. When school starts, I don the hat of “advocate”. This is very new to me and so, like everything else in my life right now, a necessary transition. I can see already that I will be honing my communication skills as well as sharpening my assertiveness. I am married to an amazing man, who, spoils me to no end. Not in a material way... NO I'm wrong. When he can, he does spoil me materially as he is well acquainted with my infatuation and love all electronic gadgets. I am a self professed EGG, “Electronic Gadget Groupie.” The most important way he spoils me is with taking over attending to our son's needs. My eye has always been caught by sparkly things, the beautiful, and the unique.

Posted on Sunday, October 1, 2006 ~, in Knitting, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Very amazing site! I wish I could do something as nice as you did…

    mary

  2. Thanks for visiting, Mary; and thank you so much for your generous comment.

    Actually, I think some creativity comes from boredom! I was churning out these hats and got to the point where I HAD to do something different. You need to work with the medium first to learn what you can do, then the ideas start to come for different things. Lots of ideas on the internet, too. As you experiment, you will learn the qualities different stitches make. It can be a quick process, or it can be a slow on. One thing for sure is that looming will work up quicker than knitting unless you are experienced at it.

Tell the Dragon what you think.... Any opinions?

