Do You Hear That?


This post is inspired by Naturalhigh’s blog, entitled LIVING LIFE FULLY, the post was called, “The Places We Are Called To Be”.

“The place God calls you to, “ writes Frederick Beuchner, “is the place where your deep gladness and the world’s deep hunger meet.”

I start with the above quote from her blog. This really grabbed hold of me when I read it today…. where deep gladness and the world’s deep hunger meet. I really like this. It feels right. God will always call us to a place where we can help others in whatever way they need to be helped. It could be a smile, or it could be a few words said just when they needed to be said. It’s this kind of thing that I get excited about. Every day miracles.

Pain is not something to shy away from. All pain is, well, painful. I learned early in life that there is no other option other than to ride the pain, physical, emotional, whatever. Eventually, I realized hey, I got through that… I am still alive. I, along with everyone else, has weathered a lot of pain throughout my life. You ask the question, “why?” If God was such a loving God, then why all the pain? What reason… there has to be a reason, right? I got into survivor mode. To survive, I needed to rise above the pain and look at it objectively. Once I could make it a part of me, acknowledge and accept it, I realized that nothing could touch me, or use that vulnerable part of me, against me. Cool. That was where it stood for a while until I started to get spiritual. There had to be more.

Somewhere along the line I recognized that, at times, I had a certain amount of empathy towards those who had experienced what I had. I would feel the urge, the need to do or say something to help. Now, though I always loved to write, I could not speak. I was a stutterer, meaning my brain would freeze and go blank; and any effort to verbalize would come out sputtering…. repeatedly. In fact, I was incapable of speaking. Silent, I bore this gift, this added dimension of “feeling” other’s pain as well as understanding it, within my boundaries.

Finally, I ventured forth, baring my pain- my raw self, sharing my own pain in an effort to have an effect…. to help. This happened when I joined a self help group for divorced and separated people. This was truly when my life began. I was literally transformed then… or I should say the transformation had started then. I grew. Now, I am a totally different person. I can finally articulate my thoughts. So, in striving to help others I am saved, myself.

There are many passages in the bible that bring me to this same spot, the place that I need to be. Unfortunately, I fail to recall specifically what they are… (don’t you hate that?) For me, the place that I need to be is right here. Ah, finally back to Naturalhigh’s post. She speaks about being called. I did fight my calling; but now I am here answering. I pray that He will find me worthy to be His vessel on earth. I will sometimes drift off into hymn lyrics and I will do so here:

“Hear I am, Lord. Is it I, Lord? I have heard you calling in the night. I will go, Lord if you lead me. I will hold your people in my heart.”~~~~ Hear I am, Lord

I know that I am called right now to mother a precious soul of the Lord, my Gabriel. I often wonder that God has found me worthy to have a baby. Wow. I must trust in the Lord. I question, but I always end by acknowledging that I am His vessel and that I must not hesitate to act; in this case, to bring up baby.

This is for The Mommy, at “Attempted Motherhood”, if she is reading. None of us are perfect. Yes, we bring our faults, our failings into our mothering. It’s okay. Being aware of it is the first and biggest step to parenting.  Being conscious of what we want and what we don’t want is SO important.  We have that unique perspective and we must somehow consciously use it for good and make our negatives into positives. Can we call it “creative mothering”? It can be done. We look at our babies and marvel that we are entrusted with them. What a blessing! Gabriel inspires me every day. I look at him and know that he deserves the best that I can offer… and sometimes he gets my own worst and that I cannot help sometimes. One of the miracles is that I now believe that I have a LOT to offer a kid, whereas before, I didn’t think that I had anything of value to offer. Well, I learned that I have MYSELF to offer and that is a great gift… for both of us!

I look at him and I am reminded that he will not always be this little baby. He will not always come running to me with innocence in his eyes…..

…but I will remember!

About dragonmommie

I am a wife and mother of an amazing eight year old boy. When school starts, I don the hat of “advocate”. This is very new to me and so, like everything else in my life right now, a necessary transition. I can see already that I will be honing my communication skills as well as sharpening my assertiveness. I am married to an amazing man, who, spoils me to no end. Not in a material way... NO I'm wrong. When he can, he does spoil me materially as he is well acquainted with my infatuation and love all electronic gadgets. I am a self professed EGG, “Electronic Gadget Groupie.” The most important way he spoils me is with taking over attending to our son's needs. My eye has always been caught by sparkly things, the beautiful, and the unique.

Posted on Tuesday, October 24, 2006 ~, in motherhood, Spirituality & Religion, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. What a beautiful sequel to my blog post. Thank you! I love how you brought up simple acts of kindness and compassion as a response to your calling. So powerful. If more people practiced simple kindness, most of the world’s problems would be solved. It is a struggle to see how valuable our contributions really are. And what a difference we make for the world in how we parent.

  2. Hey, you mentioned me. That’s so cool of you. Thanks so much. What truth you speak too. I’m tearing up really.

    I love to read about how you see God working in your life and transforming you. It is very inspiring.

    I have always loved that quote from Beuchner. I must admit that I often don’t feel like it is true, yet I believe it to be true if that makes any sense.

    I never realized the challenges of someone who stuttered until I found out a daughter of a friend stuttered (she was in my husband’s youth group). Finding ways to cope with and work around stuttering is a great challenge. The interesting thing to me is that often this makes for better communication because the person is more deliberate about what they say.

  3. Hi Mommy…

    Hey, this is like one big conversation going on… kinda cool.

    Yeah, stuttering is pretty much buried in the past for me, but sometimes it still comes out when I get flustered or nervous. My brain and my mouth could not coordinate to get the thoughts out. My brain was ten million miles ahead of my mouth! I think the main problem was nervousness. I could not relax and my whole body was wound up so tight that I could not think out responses to a conversation in a timely manner. The conversation was moving along and by the time I could respond, it was irrelevant, which made for more frustration and awkwardness. I could not break into conversations properly and it appeared that I was interrupting (even this we have to learn). It seemed, too, that no one would ever give me a chance to speak. The stuttering just amplified the problem and my embarrassment.

    This is something that I take with me and now I am very aware of people trying to be a part of a conversation…. and I let them. This falls into what I was talking about regarding pain becoming a blessing. You go through something and that is how you become aware of the issue; which then empowers you to actively do something about it.

    Ah, the subtleties of life!

  4. Naturalhigh… I had to de-spam your comment. For some reason comments are being recognized as spam. If you notice this on your blog, you can de-spam by going into your dashboard, then manage, then akismet. Akismet blocks spam and displays all comments until you either delete them or de-spam them. Anyhow, thanks for your comment, though, belated.

    Yes, sometimes it’s a struggle to see our contributions, but I believe that awareness opens up so many possibilities. I believe that the Lord doesn’t want us to be left with memories of pain, or whatever. He wants us to be proactive. It’s another reason why we experience pain. If we experience it, and let it lay, it stagnates. If we take it and use it for good, it is transformed into something beautiful and wonderful.

Tell the Dragon what you think.... Any opinions?

