Last Easter

This picture got put here sort of at the last minute… and believe it or not, was taken with a camera phone! This is our Church, Immaculate Conception Church in Elizabeth, NJ. See our choir area on the left, with two of our choir members talking. This was taken last Easter. I love the effect that the inferiority of my phone created of the cross at the top.

Got this quote from the GUD site. I just had to scoop it up and put it here, as well.

“A human being is a part of a whole, called by us ‘universe’, a part limited in time and space. He experiences himself, his thoughts and feelings as something separated from the rest – a kind of optical delusion of his consciousness. This delusion is a kind of prison for us, restricting us to our personal desires and to affection for a few persons nearest to us. Our task must be to free ourselves from this prison by widening our circle of compassion to embrace all living creatures and the whole of nature in its beauty. ”

~ Albert Einstein

This is the stuff of who we are. Jesus is in us, we are in him, get it? We must strip away all the earthly things and seek the Father.

Romans 12:4-5

“For as in one body we have many parts, and all the parts do not have the same function, so in Christ we who are many form one body, and each member belongs to all the others.”

As always, I feel a hymn coming on….. So simple, so beautiful
One Bread One Body

Refrain:

One bread one body; one Lord of all; one cup of blessing which we bless.

And we, though many throughout the earth; we are one body in this one Lord.

1. Gentile or Jew, servant or free, woman or man……… no more.

2. Many the gifts, many the works, one in the Lord of all.

3. Grain for the fields, scattered and grown, gathered for one, for all.

I really enjoy being in the choir. I tell ya, I’ve always been a ROCKER from the ’70’s on… and I still enjoy those songs and singing those songs. Heart, Meat Loaf, Eagles, Styx, Def Leopard, Led Zep, ELO… all those guys. But you know, I feel so at home singing church songs and I’m not ashamed to say that for everyone to see. The music, the sound of the music, just resonates all through me…. very emotional songs, whether it be Gospel or more traditional, like Amazing Grace or The Saints Come Marching In. Take the time to really listen some time.

I’ll tell you something else. It wasn’t until I started singing church songs (hymns) that my voice really got strong enough to handle those rough, raunchy “ROCK” songs, especially through practicing the slow, high ones.

TAKE A DEEP BREATH!……………………………. 😀

Amen!

