Head Size Matters?


Big Drake Little Drake

Does it really matter that my baby has a bigger head than normal?

I just have to write about this. At the last dr’s visit that Little Drake had, the pediatrician sits me down and starts to say, “… usually if one or two of the parents have an above average head size, the child will also.” And your point? I don’t know, I just found it strange. I mean, my baby’s head literally saved his life. Yes, I’ll go into that. As you may know, I had what they call a late pregnancy… blah blah blah. Read all about it here or here. Yeah, one of those posts was supposed to be private, but I still can’t figure it out.

Anyway, the gist is that Gabriel was a small baby for his gestational age. He had a small body, but his head was bigger. The head matched the gestational age, according to the dates I gave them, but the body was smaller. This stirred up a few things during the months of my prenatal care. For one, they couldn’t pin point the age of the baby. Since I had the gestational diabetes, they were worried that the baby was not getting enough nutrients… etc. From the beginning the drs told me that the size of his head gave them hope. It gave them motivation that would influence how they treated us. The head being so big gave us hope that he was normal, or healthy… whatever that would make him okay.

So for the pediatrician to take on a tone of reassurance about his head, was kind of moot, more, anti-climatic. I didn’t think to tell him then, but I will next time I talk to him. To be fair, he probably doesn’t know the whole story, at the very least, my story… but this was something….

OH… I know. I wanted to write about it because the other day was the first time I saw for myself that he does sort of have a boggle head. He is in the 25th percentile and has a thin, slight body; that I can tell will stretch out tall, and a head that seems to sit on a small neck. He’s got good muscle control and everything, just that I while drying him naked, after a bath, I could see what the dr probably saw, or measured. Still no big deal, just that it was more pronounced with him being naked.

I remember when I was compulsive about preventing “Flat Head Syndrome”. That is when they sleep always with the head in the same position and the growing head adjusts for it and that spot, touching the mattress, could end up being flat. Gabriel’s head was always perfect shape. Then when I went back to work for a few months, somebody, who shall remain nameless, wasn’t as vigilant and the head got slightly flat, just where his head touched the mattress. Thank goodness I quit my job for other reasons. I was able to take control again! I like to think that only “I” can see the spot, but of course us mommies are very observant when it comes to babies.

He’s still my Goopy… Hey, I’d rather him have a big head on a little body than a huge body with a little head… sort of like a shrunken voodoo head. Besides, his dad has the same body type and he just naturally takes after him in most ways anyway…. thank goodness, otherwise, he’s be short and stumpy!

About dragonmommie

I am a wife and mother of an amazing eight year old boy. When school starts, I don the hat of “advocate”. This is very new to me and so, like everything else in my life right now, a necessary transition. I can see already that I will be honing my communication skills as well as sharpening my assertiveness. I am married to an amazing man, who, spoils me to no end. Not in a material way... NO I'm wrong. When he can, he does spoil me materially as he is well acquainted with my infatuation and love all electronic gadgets. I am a self professed EGG, “Electronic Gadget Groupie.” The most important way he spoils me is with taking over attending to our son's needs. My eye has always been caught by sparkly things, the beautiful, and the unique.

Posted on Thursday, November 9, 2006 ~, in Family, Life, motherhood, Rants/Opinions, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 14 Comments.

  1. My dad has a big head. He makes jokes about it, that he’s a hydroceph… (a really bad joke by the way, considering those that really suffer from that…) Anyway, he seemed to have had an intelligence way above average. Yet his emotional quotient isn’t all that high 😉 I trust that your drake will have both. I doubt that head size has to do with intelligence, but just wanted to tell you what’s special about my own dad who really has a non-standard skull LOL… Headphones, hats… he has trouble with all those.

    This picture is great, dragonmommie, and I feel blessed to have had the opportunity to read your “private” posts. 🙂 Thank you so much for sharing it all. Lovely Little Drake. So handsome! I just melted when I saw him at 2-days-old, already so beautiful even if he was so small then.

  2. I wouldn’t have noticed his head size, and even after you pointed it out, it doesn’t look ill proportioned to me in the least. The whole concern for being standard or average in every possible way is a bit obsessive sometimes! Pediatricians can often relate to charts and graphs better than squirmy little kids with their sticky fingers and unabashed love.

  3. it doesn’t look ill proportioned to me in the least.

    To me neither.

  4. What’s that, brownies ?

    GOD!!!!!!!! Help me!

    LOL

    (( hugs to draggonmommie ))

  5. Thanks for your kind comments, guys. I really don’t see anything strange, either, and he IS pretty smart, but that’s his MOM talking!

    Yep…. those be brownies… the brownie maker made them! Actually just finished them today.

    Oh, something to add… Both myself and father have bigger than average heads (though the drake swears his is average).

  6. Actually just finished them today.

    Outch! that was brutal. Please be softer in how you tell me the truth next time, k ? I thought you left one for me.

    Both myself and father have bigger than average heads (though the drake swears his is average).

    ps : truth to be told you are rrrrrreally smart, dragonnmommie. I am an expert on smarties and smart. Father’s head size is hard to gauge on a picture since he’s… well he’s… got… he has a … shiny… large forehead! 🙂

  7. Daddy is really smart, too; but in a simpler way… which is the best way, really. I mean, when I start I can go off in 2,000 different tangents. He spouts pearls of wisdom in, like, a sentence. Here’s one for ya: “That’s them”. There is so much said in those two words… ugh… kills me!

    Sorry, Chill… yep, yours truly had the last one, but don’t fret, they were getting hard!

  8. Darling Daughter’s head was “large” too. I went to a peds practice at the time that had multiple docs, one kinda flipped about it and made us come back in a month. Then we saw one of the other docs and he asked about family stuff. I told them that we had been home and compared pictures with members of my family and she had the same shaped head as them. So the dr. made a note and we never really talked about it again. In that same vein for most of her life her height and weight have been in the low percentiles. Once her height was barely on the chart, her weight had dropped off and her lovely head with in the 95th percentile, we just had to laugh. But now she is four and gets mistaken for two or early three all the time until she opens her mouth and says Well, actually blah, blah, and people realize she is older.

    Interestingly, if you watch any children’s shows with animations or most animation in general, the heads are always bigger. It makes them look more “real” and friendly. My brothers think my daughter looks like an anime (Japanese) character with her “big” head and eyes.

  9. Thanks for stopping by, Mommy. I love your blog!

    Truth be told, I LOVE my kid’s head. I can’t help myself from touching it and running my hand all over it…. like “this is MY kid!”

    It can’t help that he has little hair and it’s very light blonde. He was born with some hair, but people always thought he was bald…. same went for me, though I am dark brown now. Also, his hair is growing VERY slowly. I keep saying that his first hair cut will be somewhere around 5 or 6 because I want a really big chunk of it for his first one.

  10. I think your boy looks perfect. I was reading your story because they told me at my last ultrasound my baby head was weeks bigger then it was suppose to be. Thank you for sharing it made me feel better. I bet your a wonderful mommy.

  11. Hi Shelly… Thanks for your comments. The drs go by the size of the head to determine the age of the baby for themselves, outside of the dates you give them about your last period. In my case, I gave them the right dates, but they were questioning it because the head and body sizes were not matching for the age. They must do what they must do and we, unfortunately must go along and be patient with the whole process. My son, Gabriel is doing fine and will be 2 years old in March. He is the light and joy of our lives.

    Thanks for stopping by.

  12. I guess it says something about me that the first thing I noticed about the post was the brownies. The second was that I looked at the father’s head and thought “Well, it seems normal to me, but maybe it’s not…”

    It wasn’t until I read into the message that I had a clue. Granted, not an unusual state for me. 😉

  13. What? You didn’t notice the blue glass dish? Ah yes, the brownies would dominate the landscape 99.99999% of the time!

    Yeah, you know I can’t figure out that about the head, but I can tell you that I have a larger head than normal, but only because I can’t get hats to fit me and not because it “looks” bigger. It’s the same for my DH because I knitted him a hat according to instructions for an adult hat, and it was tight. I think the thinner the body, the more pronounced the size of the head is.

    BTW, loved that poem I read on your blog. I was just involved in a tag that tracked back to you and that is how I found you.

  1. Pingback: Rantsopinions Blog Digest - Head Size Matters?

Tell the Dragon what you think.... Any opinions?

