The Cry of the Poor


Refrain
The Lord hears the cry of the poor.
Blessed be the Lord.

Verses
1. I will bless the Lord at all times,
his praise ever in my mouth.
Let my soul glory in the Lord,
who will hear the cry of the poor.

2. Let the lowly hear and be glad,
the Lord listens to their pleas;
and to hearts broken God is near,
who will hear the cry of the poor.

3. Ev’ry spirit crushed, God will save;
will be ransom for their lives;
will be safe shelter for their fears,
and will hear the cry of the poor.

4. We proclaim your greatness, oh God,
your praise ever in our mouth;
every face brightened in your light,
for you hear the cry of the poor.

Here is a link to the melody if not the verbal words, but the sound is very beautiful.  I’ve always loved this hymn.  Had choir practice tonight, and this song is coming up this weekend. I am so happy! I am hoping that I will be chosen to lead it because there is nothing like doing this leading when a song oozes out of your being. What I mean by leading, is just standing up at the podium and announcing the title and number of the song, then lifting your hand up high to signal everyone to sing…. but it’s not a solo or anything… everyone sings. During Advent, I will be doing some of the psalms which will mean singing by myself for part of it… kind of scary, but the more practice I do, the more confident I will become.

This hymn has a kind of wailing to it. I am not musical enough to say, but I think the music is in the flats (b)… but very emotional sounding. I don’t have the hymn book in front of me right now to check, but I am pretty sure of it. Nope, wrong again. Just checked and this hymn is in sharps (#). Still very beautiful. I love to sing slower than our music director likes to play…. ugh. Singing slower allows you to hold the notes longer… AND… give more time for recovery if you lose your place! Little trick there.

Musically, I used to play the acoustic guitar… again, love the tones, melody. I officially labeled myself a rhythm guitarist because I played chords… mainly because learning melody, which means learning exactly where the notes are, which means having to KNOW what notes actually are, was just too hard much for me to learn. Still, I loved playing chords, too. Gabriel’s arrival pretty much put the kabbash on the guitar, but when he gets a bit older, I’ll whip it out so he will think his mom is cool.

About dragonmommie

I am a wife and mother of an amazing eight year old boy. When school starts, I don the hat of “advocate”. This is very new to me and so, like everything else in my life right now, a necessary transition. I can see already that I will be honing my communication skills as well as sharpening my assertiveness. I am married to an amazing man, who, spoils me to no end. Not in a material way... NO I'm wrong. When he can, he does spoil me materially as he is well acquainted with my infatuation and love all electronic gadgets. I am a self professed EGG, “Electronic Gadget Groupie.” The most important way he spoils me is with taking over attending to our son's needs. My eye has always been caught by sparkly things, the beautiful, and the unique.

Posted on Friday, November 10, 2006 ~, in Faith, Hymns, Lyrics, Music, Poems & Quotations, Spirituality & Religion, Uncategorized, Words Of Wisdom and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. “Just checked and this hymn is in sharps” … you mean the 3 sharps at the start of each line? That’s just the key signature. 3 sharps is A. If you go up or down in pitch, the tune stays the same — like if you put a capo on a guitar, you can move a tune up or down in pitch without changing the tune (it’s called transposing). If you went up 3 semitones it would be C; no sharps or flats at all. But it would still have the same sort of tug or hauntingness… whatever the word would be.

    I think it might be down to the minor chords used.

    You’re right, it’s a great song

    God bless

  2. Thank you for your input, Frank! I like how you put it: “tug or hauntingness”… that’s the feel of it for me. Yes, I’ve used a capo before to change the pitch of a song without changing the tune… I actually like using a capo and liked to play songs as high as I could… like a Ukulele. Recently, I did take my guitar out for my son, but ran to put it back because all he wanted to do was bang on it…. he likes drums!

    I am still musically challenged, and have since quit the choir… believe it or not, for spiritual reasons. What I like to do now is sit in with the congregation as a sort of “spotter”. I’ll sing with the choir and marvel at how the people around me will start singing…. hence calling myself a Spotter.

  1. Pingback: Imperfectly Perfect « DragonMommie's World

Tell the Dragon what you think.... Any opinions?

