I’ve really been wanting to write something spiritual, but lately my mind has been on culinary delights. Today’s concoction was inspired by The Drake’s roaring edict, proclaiming: NO MEAT ON FRIDAY…. <<nostrils flaming>>

He had been forewarning me lately that once the OT dries up, we will have to start eating rice and beans, so I decided to make rice and beans today to try it out, crock pot style. Let me insert a disclaimer here stating that I am not a vegetarian, so I apologize if any of the ingredients do not pass the vegetarian mustard. Please let me know and I will make a revision as I will also be posting this on my Crock Pot Recipes page, as well.

So I started with some beans!

Vegetarian Stew

Black beans, 1 can
Chick peas, 1 can
Butter beans, 1 can
Red Kidney bean, 1 can
Corn, whole kernel, 1 can
Crushed Tomatos, 1 large can
Tomato Paste, 1 little can
Yucca, (they come all different sizes, you decide)
Shallots, 2
Sofrito, amount per directions on jar
Dark Brown sugar or molasses, to taste
Louisiana Hot Sauce, optional to taste
Herbs, to taste
Rice (optional)

First, I coated the crock pot with cooking spray, then I dumped in all the canned ingredients, beans, tomatoes, paste and corn; but first rinsed off all the starch. You do not need to strain the corn; but if you like to drink corn juice, like I do, feel free!

Peel and cut your yucca root into chunks and add to the mix. I boiled it first but that was because I am unfamiliar with yucca. I think that you do not need to boil it; but you folks judge if you know yucca.

Chop and add the shallots, and by all means, add more if you want to. I am just trying to stick with two for awhile as I am unfamiliar with them. Now, I’ve never used Sofrito before and if you are not familiar with it, information here.
( Here are some recipes on how to make your own sofrito. )Yum!

Now for the fun (as if it hasn’t been all along!) Even though I let you guys know that there are directions on the jar to for the amount to add, I dumped in half the jar before I knew it. I wouldn’t recommend that in the interest of getting your money’s worth, though, it was pretty cheap. The finished product was still pretty good. My goal with this recipe was to create something sweet and spicy, so I added a solid form of molasses I found at the store, much like dark brown sugar. Chucked in some Louisiana Hot Sauce. I love this because of the vinegar, so if you don’t have it, add a little vinegar, preferably balsamic. I grow rosemary, so I added some of that and Mrs. Dash’s Southwestern Chipotle seasoningno salt!

Okay, next thing I did was to add water just enough to cover everything, if not covered already. If you want thick gravy, take a tsp. or so of corn starch, mix with just enough cold water to liquify it and add it to your veggie stew. Mix everything up well. Crock pot should be set to 4 hours on LOW. You’re good to go!… Literally, out the door if you want… whoo hoo!

You can throw this over rice if you want, but I didn’t. I loved it the way it was. If you want to add other stuff… again, feel free and I’d love to hear how it came out.

! Debbie’s kitchen loves unique and interesting combinations !

As a side note, the Drake never tasted my scrumptious veggie stew. He claimed that his cold took his appetite away… GRRRRRRRRRRRRR

