I wrote about my platelet donation back on Nov. 21st.  and today I got a really nice and motivational comment that I want to share with you.  I felt it was important because I wanted Kelly’s comment to be more accessible to someone doing a search on the subject and here it is:

“Today I gave platelets for the first time and experienced the same “tingling” and “vibrating” sensations that you described. I hated it and was so tempted to ask them to stop the machine and let me off!! I actually eat 7 tums during the two hours it took to take my single unit. The crazy thing is, I signed up to do it again in 3 weeks. But, I’m going to eat a calcium-rich diet between now and then. However, the friend I went with had no problems at all with her donation and she gave two units in the amount of time it took for me to give one.

“With all that said, I want to thank you for donating platelets, for I have a very personal reason to encourage people to donate any blood products. This past January my 19 year old son was diagnosed with leukemia. We lost track of how many bags of platelets, plasma, and packed red blood cells he used. He relapsed in June and had a bone marrow transplant in August. While waiting to recover from the transplant he had daily transfusions of all blood products, but mostly platelets. It grieves me to say that he died in September due to complications after the transplant.

“And now it has taken me 3 months to get myself back to the same clinic where he was initially diagnosed and donate platelets. I am so grateful to people like you, who have given this life-saving gift and would encourage anyone else who reads this to please consider giving blood. The need is greater than you can ever imagine. Thank you for your gift.”

Kelly, thanks for sharing your experiences.  I am sorry to hear about the passing of your son… but I am also glad that you’ve decided to donate platelets.  His life will be remembered and truly a blessing for those who receive your platelets.

As I mentioned in my email to you, I need to straighten out some medical issues before I donate again… hopefully by January.

If anyone is interested in learning more about donating blood or apheresis, you can check out this site, Blood Center of NJ.

