Poncho Delivered & Log Cabin Blanket


Yep, finally I delivered the green poncho to Florie, the lucky recipient… or I should say that I am the lucky one because I was challenged and had to use my brain to improvise to her taste. To be challenged, promotes growth and that is always a good thing.

Here, I post Florie modeling her poncho… just in time for Christmas:

Florie in Green Poncho

This was done with two strands of yarn from Knitpicks. Can’t remember the name, but it’s a moss color and look and feel of mohair, soft, light and warm. The third strand is Red Heart worsted Frosty Green. These two colors could not have been matched better. The Frosty Green, a bit lighter, blends in great, creating a sort of 3D look. I used the yellow KK loom to make two flat panels, then sewed them together. Florie did not want fringes and it was just as well because it came out on the longish side. She wanted a square neck, so I crocheted the neck to fill in the “v”. Florie just “loves” it and that made me very happy. Now I am going to start something for myself.

Next, is a current pic of the Log Cabin Blanket. I just finished the pink strip. It’s coming out as a rectangle… duh! look at the middle piece.. it’s a rectangle, too! Right now I am at the point where the strips are so long that they cannot be finished in one sitting… I am getting bored with it, too, so this will be finished soon. I also want to get some more repeated colors in there, and more blended colored yarn. The pink strip, finished a complete row, so if I continue, I will have to do at least four more strips, then when it’s done, I want to make an edging which will just be either crocheted or for more thinner strips, all in the same color to create the edge.

Log Cabin Blanket

About dragonmommie

I am a wife and mother of an amazing eight year old boy. When school starts, I don the hat of “advocate”. This is very new to me and so, like everything else in my life right now, a necessary transition. I can see already that I will be honing my communication skills as well as sharpening my assertiveness. I am married to an amazing man, who, spoils me to no end. Not in a material way... NO I'm wrong. When he can, he does spoil me materially as he is well acquainted with my infatuation and love all electronic gadgets. I am a self professed EGG, “Electronic Gadget Groupie.” The most important way he spoils me is with taking over attending to our son's needs. My eye has always been caught by sparkly things, the beautiful, and the unique.

Posted on Wednesday, December 20, 2006 ~, in Creativity, Family, Knitting, Loom Knitting, Pictures. Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Kudos to you for doing such a fantastic job, Dragon mommie. I love both the poncho and quilt. There’s nothing nicer than receiving a special hand crafted gift that’s been made with love.

    Nice job! I may be asking for your help next month as I start a new project.

  2. Gracie… Thanks for the pat on the back. The looms make these items so easy to make… and fast. My next project will be a wrap/scarf. I am trying to pinpoint the yarn I will use right now… so much to choose from! I will be happy to help you with anything, if I can.

    tobeme… Thanks again, for your comment and thanks for stopping by and taking the trouble to comment… as you say, “breakfast of champions!”

  3. For the blanket, do you crochet the strips separtate? or attached to the rest?
    If they are separtate do you just sew them together?
    Thanks!

Tell the Dragon what you think.... Any opinions?

