Cats~ Meooow!


Stray cats – Stray cats strut

I loved Naturalhigh’s post, “The Magic of the Wild Things” and it just reminded me of this song from the 80’s. Cats are elegant, magnificant, strange, aloof, curious, and I could go on and on. This song is the very essence of a confident, strutting cat whether stray or domesticated.

Growing up, I had dogs one after another. I never liked cats and didn’t know why… then; but now I do know why I didn’t like them. I felt rejected by them. I wanted to love them and they didn’t want to love me; BUT I wanted to love them on MY terms. If there is one thing I learned about animals, cats in particular, is that they must come to you, and on THEIR terms, not yours. Yeah, that was a tough lesson, but once I learned that, I loved cats and I loved life a little more. I never thought that cats had personality, until I got a kitten, Simba. This is him when I first got him. I worked for an ambulance company and there was a litter in the garage. It was really too soon as the mother still had to stimulate the kittens’ genitals for them to “go”. I gave Simba back to the mother until he was older. You can see the little bottle in the background.:

Baby Simba

Ha… as you can see that was July of 2001. I was his mommie and he was my baby. He still is my baby, but he is an outdoor cat now, along with Smokey, my brother/dad’s cat whom they didn’t want any longer and I got hoodwinked into taking him in, but I didn’t regret it. Simba grew up with Smokey and he was always very patient with the little guy, letting him eat first-always. I learned that as an adult, they had serious territorial issues in my house and to make a long story short, I had to put both of them outside. Both of them have their claws, so I am not worried. They’ve been out there since Gabriel was born, and they are doing just fine.

Getting back… Cats can be so loving in their own way. They’ve taught me about life… that you cannot approach life and impose your will on it. Look away, do not expect anything, and it will come knocking on your door…. always! I love the aura of the cat. Every Halloween I’d always make myself up in some feline costume- tail, ears and all. They are just so cool. So all put together, strutting around so confident, without a care in the world…. having fun! Oddly, I really liked the movie, The Cat People. What I really like are the Big Cats, black panthers, leopards, etc. Sleek, sexy in a way, or maybe the human feline version feels so sexy whenever I don that persona.

Hey! They keep the mice at bay, even being outside. We’ve not had a significant mouse problem, though I was very worried about it when we had to put them out.

About dragonmommie

I am a wife and mother of an amazing eight year old boy. When school starts, I don the hat of “advocate”. This is very new to me and so, like everything else in my life right now, a necessary transition. I can see already that I will be honing my communication skills as well as sharpening my assertiveness. I am married to an amazing man, who, spoils me to no end. Not in a material way... NO I'm wrong. When he can, he does spoil me materially as he is well acquainted with my infatuation and love all electronic gadgets. I am a self professed EGG, “Electronic Gadget Groupie.” The most important way he spoils me is with taking over attending to our son's needs. My eye has always been caught by sparkly things, the beautiful, and the unique.

Posted on Saturday, January 6, 2007 ~, in Ego, Life, Pictures, Uncategorized, videos. Bookmark the permalink. 12 Comments.

  1. I haven’t heard “stray cat strut” for years. . . . . . ..

    Your little Simba is very cute. . . . .

  2. Hi Joey…
    Thanks for stopping by. Yeah, I forgot about that song, too, until today. I just wish that they literally dressed in more feline-ish outfits for that video. Simba is still my baby in many ways. I would have him back inside, but unfortunately, DH is allergic and once he was out, it was for good.

  3. Loved this! My cats are queens! They must be worshipped and pampered but they are so darn entertaining and fascinating that how can I not bow down???!!

    I love the deep poools of both of my cats’ eyes. One is timid and searching, the other is fearless and deeply loving.

  4. Dragonmommie,
    Thanks for the “stray cat strut”, made me smile!

  5. My husband keeps telling me he is allergic to cats. We now have three.

    I think he either is full of crap, or developed an immunity to them.

    I couldn’t let my guys outside, they are too pampered and dotted on. . . .I’m not sure if they still have their ‘street smarts’

    I’ve never had an outdoor cat. . . .

  6. tobeme… You’re welcome! I always loved that song and this is the first time that I saw the video. I always envisions them all dresses as sleek cats, I don’t know why.

    Naturalhigh… I know what you mean… you just CAN’T help but bow down to them. They can act so indifferent, but you know that they really want a scratch behind the ears.

    Joey… My DH lived with them for almost a year, then we put them out for defacating in the house from their territorial issues. He just never realized how much better it is for him without them inside… and get this: HE is the one who faithfully buys the food and feeds them every day. I never thought that my Simba would be a good outdoor cat. He is so passive… but my other one, Smokey, he is so aggressive when defending his turf! He even attacked a large dog to “protect” me. This was a stray dog that would not let me go inside the house… Gotta love em!

  7. Having a mind seriously tethered to the 1980s, the Stray Cat Strut has never been far from my mind. Let’s not forget the ultimate cat song, LOVECATS. The video for it, par for the Cure course, is chockful of weirdness. It focussed on people dressed in full size cat costumes while they chase each other around a room lit by shadeless lamps. The camera juts in and out of focus, and Robert Smith is prancing around the room in circles. The song rocks out, in the way that most Cure songs do.

    Of course, my mind also remembers the film CAT PEOPLE. That incredibly forgettable movie started Natashja Kinski, the actress who depth consisted of getting naked. It was an interesting concept, but not a blockbuster. I ended up watching it because, at the time, I had a thing for pouty lips….my cinematic standards were also not incredibly high as an eighth grader, either. The only other cat film I remember was SLEEPWALKERS. A bit on the gory side, but definitely a good (if not funky) film. Some of the special effects were a little cheesy, but the movie kept you creeped out.

    The cat pictured reminds me of a younger version of something a roommate had. A nice orange and white cat who answered to “Ralph.” I remember having some fun with Ralph….like when I signed him up for getting more information about an electronics degree from a local community college. The school would call every few weeks, asking for Ralph. I kept them stringing them along saying that he was at a conference, or visiting his mother one weekend….I said he couldn’t take their call, but left out the part about not having opposable thumbs.

    Those were the days…=)

    thanks for the flashback!

    -sj

  8. Hi sj…
    Forgot to respond last night…. Thanks for your comments. I do not like really gory movies so I can say that I will not try to find SLEEPWALKERS. I cried and covered my eyes when Bambi’s mother was killed… and that was OFF SCREEN.

    Yes, I was disappointed with CAT PEOPLE, too, but because of the history story line of her people, I liked it. I was on the young side when it came out and so I had to see it a couple of times before I “got it.” You are right about Natashja Kinski. The only other thing I remember her for is that poster with the giant boa constrictor wrapped around her naked body.

    I was not a heavy glam rock listener, but I loved some of the bands of that decade. I don’t know if Heart was considered glam, but I still love listening to their music.

  9. *taps fingers on desk and wonders why nobody is postin*

    \”Postin\” -Southern Verb, to post. lol

  10. Hi cat litter…
    I really don’t get many comments on my blog to begin with, but I have a nice littler readership here. I would consider this a lot!

  11. Dragonmommie . . . .I got the same totally random comment on my blog. . . .must be a bot. . . .

  12. Joey… I am such a putz. I thought it might be something like that, but if I was wrong, I didn’t want to insult the person.

Tell the Dragon what you think.... Any opinions?

