Morning light

Pretender
By Jackson Browne

I’m going to rent myself a house
In the shade of the freeway
I’m going to pack my lunch in the morning
And go to work each day
And when the evening rolls around
I’ll go on home and lay my body down
And when the morning light comes streaming in
I’ll get up and do it again
Amen
Say it again
Amen

I want to know what became of the changes
We waited for love to bring
Were they only the fitful dreams
Of some greater awakening
I’ve been aware of the time going by
They say in the end it’s the wink of an eye
And when the morning light comes streaming in
You’ll get up and do it again
Amen

Caught between the longing for love
And the struggle for the legal tender
Where the sirens sing and the church bells ring
And the junk man pounds his fender
Where the veterans dream of the fight
Fast asleep at the traffic light
And the children solemnly wait
For the ice cream vendor
Out into the cool of the evening
Strolls the Pretender
He knows that all his hopes and dreams
Begin and end there

Ah the laughter of the lovers
As they run through the night
Leaving nothing for the others
But to choose off and fight
And tear at the world with all their might
While the ships bearing their dreams
Sail out of sight

I’m going to find myself a girl
Who can show me what laughter means
And we’ll fill in the missing colors
In each other’s paint-by-number dreams
And then we’ll put out dark glasses on
And we’ll make love until our strength is gone
And when the morning light comes streaming in
We’ll get up and do it again
Get it up again

I’m going to be a happy idiot
And struggle for the legal tender
Where the ads take aim and lay their claim
To the heart and the soul of the spender
And believe in whatever may lie
In those things that money can buy
Thought true love could have been a contender
Are you there?

Say a prayer for the Pretender
Who started out so young and strong
Only to surrender

Can this man do any wrong? Some of you might be getting bored with all of my Jackson Browne posts, but I’ve never really had the chance to put it out there. Now I can share it with an unlimited amount of people. I mean, REALLY let his words sink in. Notice how he can see into the souls of a diverse range of people, and of the reality of every day life.

“I want to know what became of the changes
We waited for love to bring
Were they only the fitful dreams
Of some greater awakening”

Notice how that whole second verse ponders reincarnation, at least I think so. Can it be that our dreams are a glimpse into a greater awakening? He says the end of life is in the blink of an eye, “and when the morning light comes streaming in, you’ll get up and do it again.” Could that mean that at some point after we die, we’ll come back, “get up and do it again?”

“Where the sirens sing and the church bells ring”

Can he be referring to people being bombarded by the sirens of consumerism, mystically calling out to us, so that we can barely hear the church bells of reason and what is really important? Can there ever really be a balance between these two? I hope so because I am someone struggling between the two. Is it a cop out to say that this is where the world is heading? Our children need to be able to function in it in order to survive, let alone make it and be successful. Must we, the parents, live life to the exclusion of all the comforts the world has to offer today in order to teach our children not to be dependent upon them? I tend not to think so because at some point they will be confronted with it and will not know how to handle it from inexperience. They say, “Moderation”. I can see that being a parent will be a lot more stressful than it already has and I am not looking forward to it. I just pray to God that I will find my way and do and say the right things to teach my kid(s?) well.

Mr. Browne accurately points the finger at us happy idiots, complaining about consumerism, yet we partake of many of what it offers. [This might be of particular interest to Justin V as I just read one of his posts, “Stay Outta My Frig”.] I will be the first to admit that we are definitely struggling, yet I am an electronic gadgets geek. Well, not really a geek because I know far less than they about electronics and technology… yet there is a strong appeal here for me as evidenced by my love of blogging. Blogging is a combination of two of my loves, writing at the speed of thought and electronics- in particular laptops and the internet. I am an information monster, gobbling it up as I go. I love learning little bits of everything that there is to learn out there. I can now get it as fast as I can handle receiving it. Oh, let me not forget to mention my new wireless mouse, named Freebird; and it only cost 20 bucks. I love cell phones and really want a Chocolate; but will not get one because though I am a techie wannabe, nobody really calls me, so it would just be for the music, though I will not subscribe to yet another service when I am already paying for the line. Lastly, there MUST be at least a few bugs in it that they have to work out. I hate how they drag you in. Thank goodness a cell phone is a necessity in this day and age. Yes, a necessity. When was the last time you saw any public phone, let alone a WORKING one? I have a good service package, but seldom use all the minutes, though, there are times when we really need them… all our family is long distance, except my sister, who would not be considered local. After all this talk, I think I should say that I won’t be getting the Chocolate any time soon, though I hate my Motorola Razor. Thought it was cool when I got it, plus it only cost $30.00… but it is more of an annoyance than a good phone for me. I touched upon this in my post, “Electronic Candy”.

Music is also a major part of my consumerism, though I do not consider myself crazy about it. I will say, however, that my iTunes is not working right since I changed my library. I will end up starting all over from scratch and transfer my music again to itunes. Only about 3-4 dayas worth of music from all my CD’s, which will have to be converted first to itunes format. SOS~ If anyone has any idea what has happened, please contact me at dragonmommie@gmail.com ….. thanks so much.

“Say a prayer for the Pretender
Who started out so young and strong
Only to surrender”

P.S;~ As a side note, as I write here, I am basking under the “muy” chilly lights of Starbucks on my night out, sipping an iced coffee. I’ve often wondered why they keep it so cold in here, even in the winter, while they make it so inviting to stay and hang out by providing great music, WiFi, large comfortable chairs, tables for laptops, cute blue shades on desks lamps, with outlets available right next to you. What is the deal? Do they want us to stay, or go?

I will go for now.

