The Lost Boy’s Socks


Okay, I didn’t really want to go out today, but I had had enough. I keep losing my son’s tiny socks in the wash and I just simply can’t find them.  It was so cold outside, and he’d just gotten over a cold… but I was going stir crazy and this seemed like a good excuse to get out.  I get so frustrated because I lose all the socks, especially my own novelty socks… and you know that I can’t even get by with two different ones of those, like I do with one blue and one black.

My son got up again today without his socks on. Oh yes, I know he gleefully pulls them off and I found out he gets a lot of satisfaction “letting” them fall behind the crib. One time I caught him in the act and he looked right at me, grinned, and simply let go!  There were no socks around to use in a pinch, so I decided to excavate the pair he had on last night from the pit. He only had them on a couple of hours before going to bed anyway. I wedged myself underneath that crib and saw there is a blanket hanging down from his mattress that we had used for padding so that the springs would not eat into the mattress (the Drake’s idea). So, I pull up the blanket and this is what I found:

The Lost Boys Socks
Evidently, I stumbled into the Land of the Lost Socks.   I counted 18 pairs of tiny socks.  That little goopy acted like I raided his stash!

Needless to say, I did not go out today.

About dragonmommie

I am a wife and mother of an amazing eight year old boy. When school starts, I don the hat of “advocate”. This is very new to me and so, like everything else in my life right now, a necessary transition. I can see already that I will be honing my communication skills as well as sharpening my assertiveness. I am married to an amazing man, who, spoils me to no end. Not in a material way... NO I'm wrong. When he can, he does spoil me materially as he is well acquainted with my infatuation and love all electronic gadgets. I am a self professed EGG, “Electronic Gadget Groupie.” The most important way he spoils me is with taking over attending to our son's needs. My eye has always been caught by sparkly things, the beautiful, and the unique.

Posted on Thursday, February 15, 2007 ~, in Inane Mental Discharge, motherhood, Pictures, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 8 Comments.

  1. The wash and dryer eats socks.. I believe if I were to dismantle either, I would find a land of the socks.. Think about laundr-o-mats.. 100’s of socks.. I wonder how many washer/dryfer break because of something caused by the accumculation of socks..

    I think it’s the accumulated lint that causes dryers to break down. If you think about it, the socks will just stay in the basin… but I guess you are right that it’s all in the long term. I can see a little sock getting caught up in the core of the agitator. Did you know that there is a whole world of people out there who make paper from laundry lint?

  2. Oh what little tykes can come up with! My papa would always pin his socks together with safety pins before putting them in the wash that way I suppose he would loose both instead of one! However, by doing so he and my Nanny never had the lost sock syndrome.

    Hi Nicole… My mom didn’t do anything like that, she just got aggravated by the lost socks! I got the brainstorm, only recently, to wash the tiny socks in a lingerie bag. Worked out perfectly this morning… but with all those socks, I could not put all of them in there at once.

  3. Little rascal ! I bet those A.W.O.L. socks are all nice and clean and fresh-smelling now ! Hope you have a good Friday, Dragonmommie !

    I enjoyed your Tonka story. How nice of you to have thought of a present like that – and it was cute how long it took to be found – and cool he enjoyed it alongside his big truck ! Things given with thought often make the best memories !

    Yeah… like his dad, it’s hard to get mad at him… Sometimes I don’t know whether to get mad or get proud. So far, my Friday is going pretty well. Tomorrow I have a Pampered Chef party to go to and then Sunday, LD’s godmother and husband will come over for a visit… should be nice.

    Yes, that was such a sparkily time for me… the tonka. The anticipation made every day sparkle with magic!

  4. So cute. Just love the picture.

    Thanks, seandbe… I just couldn’t resist taking a pic of it, mainly to show dad!

  5. Dragonmommie, I added you to my links because I enjoy visiting here so much… Between the music and your writings, it is interesting and feels good.
    You are welcome to come visit my blog if you would like ! It, like me, is a work in progress !
    Hope you have a wonderful holiday weekend,
    Genuinely
    Loving Annie

    Hi Loving Annie… Yes, I’ve been to your site and think it’s very nice. I love the fancy letters at the beginning of paragraphs… gives it a real nice feel. Thanks for the special blessings the other day! I don’t usually comment unless it bursting out of me, right then and there.

  6. Socks are one of the great mysteries of the universe!
    I am sure some day we will find out where all the socks end up and we will say, hmmm, that makes no sense! Ha.

    I think there is a Sock Underground where they escape to so they don’t have to sit on smelly feet!…. the kid’s got smelly feet!

  7. The dryer eats them. I’m convinced.

    Hi MotherPie… thanks for stopping by!

    Uh Oh… it’s the dryer monster! Oh, hey… I found the Cleaner Plate Club through your blog… thanks a lot! I posted links to her site and Responsible Shopper.

  8. uhoh, my son is wearing yesterday’s socks…..is that bad??? ha ha

    Hi pluckymama… Love your name! My son is always pulling off his socks. This morning he actually motioned for me to get the latest pair that is down there… but now that I know the secret, I will leave them there until it’s worth my while squeezing in there to retrieve socks. My OWN socks are still MIA, but I found one of them today in my son’s portacrib….. does that tell you something? hmmmm….

Tell the Dragon what you think.... Any opinions?

