Artificial Sweeteners & Button Failure~Scary Stuff!


Just have not been feeling inspired to write about anything lately; but I’m up so early today (5am) that I could not stay away. Nothing going on except that I’ve been WRACKING my brain trying to figure out how to get a button posted on this page. Now, are buttons just images, or are they meant to be links to other sites? I am so ignorant to the ways of computerism. Anyway, that is what I’ve been doing… unsuccessfully.

I’ve also been thinking about making a knitting blog here so that my knitting readers have a place to go directly instead of sifting through all my other stuff. I currently have a knitting page, but do not update it regularly, so it’s been pretty ineffective as nobody can really tell if/when there is anything new on it.

I’ve joined a Log Cabin KAL (Knit-A-Long)… Yeah, had to ask what that means! This is the reason why I need to get educated on buttons. I’d really like to link to this page with on of their buttons, but I have no clue as to the workings, possibilities, options of it all. I know, must be so simple, yet I am clueless. I try to follow WP’s instructions, but I do not see an “image link” box that they speak of… oh well, sooner or later I will learn. This case, later.

This morning, I’ve discovered pluckymama’s blog called Health + Sanity and I’m listening to a video called “Sweet Misery” that I found through her blog. Pretty scary stuff and I am getting off artificial sweeteners ASAP. If you have an HOUR, yes, just noticed it’s over an hour long… but if you use artificial sweeteners, particularly aspartame, please invest the time and view it. I was, with coffee (and Splenda)… Ugh… I am getting off of sweeteners, period. If I want an occasional tsp. in my coffee, I’d rather do that than ingest poison, which is what artificial sweeteners amount up to.

Another update is that today is the day of Little Drakes’ first play date with Patrick, another kid his own age…. his cousin, as a matter of fact. He’s been around kids before, but they were older. Should be interesting to see what happens, right Jenn!

Gotta run and take a shower… oh, btw, I probably won’t be able to post this until later because, guess what… my computer just went out on me. Don’t know why… a login error… except that I’ve BEEN online for over an hour! The local area connection is now not working, so will have to call my IP… but need to take a shower first.

UPDATE: As you can see, I am back online, thanks to those trusty techies at Verizon. You know, it really IRKS me when you call with a connection problem and they refer you to the WEBSITE…. GRRRRRR!

About dragonmommie

I am a wife and mother of an amazing eight year old boy. When school starts, I don the hat of “advocate”. This is very new to me and so, like everything else in my life right now, a necessary transition. I can see already that I will be honing my communication skills as well as sharpening my assertiveness. I am married to an amazing man, who, spoils me to no end. Not in a material way... NO I'm wrong. When he can, he does spoil me materially as he is well acquainted with my infatuation and love all electronic gadgets. I am a self professed EGG, “Electronic Gadget Groupie.” The most important way he spoils me is with taking over attending to our son's needs. My eye has always been caught by sparkly things, the beautiful, and the unique.

Posted on Thursday, March 15, 2007 ~, in Creativity, Food/Health Related, Knitting. Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. I watched the sweet misery video and tried converting some people from diet drinks (mother in law) but she won’t have it.

    Hi Kristy… thanks for stopping by and commenting!

    I just watched it last night and, though I don’t use a lot of sweetener, I was converted on the spot. It’s so easy to use other things to sweeten stuff. One thing I do is still make tea, but just not as strong. I like to use ginger root and lemon, without sugar and that gives it a great refreshing taste. I do have stevia, but had forgotten all about it… will have to check to see if there is an expiration date though. I am a diabetic and I’d rather use honey (though I don’t).

  2. I’m so happy that you watched it and are a convert!! You have no idea the joy that it bring to me!! I didn’t think many people would want to watch such a long movie but it captivated me. Anyway, congrats on another step towards being healthy!!!

    Hi pluckymama… thanks for stopping by! I never did get through the whole thing as it was pretty late for me last night, but I do intend on going back to it. The first 10 min is what really got me going…. then I was listening to it as I was writing this post… but then my computer went into hibernation without warning as I was draining the battery….. ha… so I just kept it off until today.

  3. DM,
    I look forward to watching the video. Thanks for sharing!
    Have a great day!

    Agree, I hate when companies refer you to the web to fix your failed connection, ugh.

  4. I hope this is the right Debbie that left a post on my blog about putting a button link to the log cabin kal(I’m pretty sure it is, but when I hit your name it went to a blogger blog under construction so I went to the log cabin kal and looked for the name Debbie and went to this wordpress site.) Well, I’m not so sure I can help you like I could before because all the blogs have been changing so much. That’s one reason why I really don’t have buttons on my blog. But you could try this: when you save the picture of the log cabin kal to your pictures, then when you post pictures maybe you’ll get an option to get code that starts like this:

  5. Hi Danielle… thanks for coming by. Yes, that was MY blog still under construction over on blogspot… but I think I am going to delete that one and start one here so that it will be easier for me to manage multiple blogs. I’d like to use the button as a link, but so far, I have no luck… though I know that I’m supposed to be able to do it here. No time tonight, but tomorrow I am going to give it another shot.

Tell the Dragon what you think.... Any opinions?

