One Million Blogs For Peace~Tuesday’s Topics


Tuesday Topic
Firstly, let me say that I cannot use spell checker because for some reason I cannot get the visual part of my editor to appear… any mispellings are, of course, either intentional or unintentional.

As you may or may not know, I have signed up ~Dragon’s Yen~ with One Million Blogs for Peace. This is the pledge that I took when I signed up:

“The Pledge
I believe in the immediate withdrawal of all foreign combat troops from the nation of Iraq. I believe in using my blog, in whole or in part, as a tool toward this end.”

It was important for me to write that myself, here. But you can find out what it’s all about here on their site.

Anyway, from what I gather, there are topics we must write about on Tuesdays. With a little more than 2 hours left in the day, I will attempt to do my share.

~***~***~***~***~***~***~

First Tuesday Topic

Tuesday, 20 March 2007
Think back four years ago, to when you first heard that the Iraq War had started.
Were you for or against the war at the time?
If you were for it, what has changed your mind over the last four years?
If you were against it, why were you against it?

I can hardly remember back 4 years ago when this war started; but I was living in Brooklyn, NY at the time and clearly remember when the towers were hit. I was on my way to work and was listening to the morning show, “Scott and Todd” on WPLJ. They used a tv to keep track of Joe Nolan, the traffic guy and I believe they witnessed the plane actually hitting the towers, live… or when the local news first started airing it. I remember that when I first got to work, I saw dark BROWN smoke over the top of our building. I remember that no work got done that day because the whole company was in the president’s office watching the TV coverage in there. We were devastated.

When we first went to war, I was living at my parent’s home at the time and I remember that I got worried about them instituting the draft. I worried about my nephew, my brother and my fiance having to go over there and getting killed. I am against war for any reason. I just don’t believe that anything can be solved through war. Sure a victorious country will be come the dominant force in the losing country, but what is the world really gaining?

Even though I was not for the war when it broke out, I was hopeful that our troops would be able to pull off what they went there to do~ find Osama Bin Laden. Well, they were not able to do that. It seems as if they have lost sight of that goal and now got themselves onto other things. Maybe that was a false pretense to get our guys over there to do what they are doing now. I don’t know, personally I don’t care… I just want our people home. The more and more I think about it, I want this country to become Isolationist and stay out of the affairs of everyone else on this planet and focus more on the needs of it’s own people. There I said it.

Now it seems as if we are stirring up more trouble over there in Iraq. It doesn’t seem as if the people there even want our intervention or presence. I believe that our presence there just makes things worse. Plus, I believe that each country should work out their own problems, their own government. Okay, so we took some people out of there. Now it’s up to them to govern their own country. I do not believe that we, the United States of America, should tell another country how to run their government, period. If we stay, I believe that the individuals actually running the government have no incentive to really make it work for themselves. They turn to us for MONEY and assistance. Where is that money actually going? It just seems to be a problem that will never get solved. If it ever will be solved, it will be by their own people, people who are actually living there and have a personal stake in how it all turns out.

I hear Moses, in the desert, crying, “Let my people go”

About dragonmommie

I am a wife and mother of an amazing eight year old boy. When school starts, I don the hat of “advocate”. This is very new to me and so, like everything else in my life right now, a necessary transition. I can see already that I will be honing my communication skills as well as sharpening my assertiveness. I am married to an amazing man, who, spoils me to no end. Not in a material way... NO I'm wrong. When he can, he does spoil me materially as he is well acquainted with my infatuation and love all electronic gadgets. I am a self professed EGG, “Electronic Gadget Groupie.” The most important way he spoils me is with taking over attending to our son's needs. My eye has always been caught by sparkly things, the beautiful, and the unique.

Posted on Wednesday, March 21, 2007 ~, in Peace. Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. DM,
    Very good post. I too was a supporter when we first went to Iraq after 9/11. I too got caught up in the emotion of the time. I was also a very different person when that happened. Now, I realize that we were very misguided and that we responded wrongly to this attack. We are now emmeshed in a never ending battle, which will only continue to cost lifes of our young people and the citizens of Iraq.
    I believe the President lied to us on many fronts and is hell bent on completing his own personal agenda that has nothing to do with what is right for this country or Iraq.

    Wow, tobeme… this is the most passionate that I’ve ever heard you be, it’s great to see. I believe the president lied to us, too. I don’t know how that guy can sleep at night.

  2. DragonMommie…I found it interesting that you seemed almost relieved to speak your mind about wanting the U.S. to become “Isolationist” in nature. I wonder if that’s the term really describing what you mean (and forgive me for assuming). Perhaps we could refocus our efforts and take care of our own while doing humanitarian work outside of our own borders – rather than playing “Good Cop/Bad Cop” in the rest of the world’s business??? This would not be isolationist, I don’t think. It just means that we show good boundaries and good priorities???

  3. Tobeme…..I just now read your reply and found we come from very similar places on this issue. Do you feel the sense of violation that I do, I wonder, upon supporting something and then later finding out it was all based on lies, deception, greed and personal agendas?? (I won’t even go into some of my 9/11 ‘conspiracy’ theories! LOL)

  4. Grace… the last time I heard that term applied to the US was in a high school history class… but it stuck with me. I really just want this country to focus on the needs of it’s own people and stay out of the politics of the rest of the world. If I remember correctly, “isolationist” means a country that is literally isolated from the rest of the world. America, because of transportation limitations, WAS isolated. Now, with travel advanced as it is, the world has gotten a lot smaller. Maybe my usage of the word is not what I mean, but really, only in the strictest sense of the word.

    Oh, GRACE I would love to hear some of your 9/11 conspiracies as I have some going on inside my head, too.

    tobeme… I do also, think that GW has his own, personal, agenda… I heard the way he was talking to congress today about this new bill that’s come up for vote… He pretty much said that he was not going to adhere to a bill that gives him a timetable for the removal of troops. He is a rabid dog!

  5. Grace… Had to go back and check out the definition:
    i·so·la·tion·ism (ī’sə-lā’shə-nĭz’əm) Pronunciation Key
    n. A national policy of abstaining from political or economic relations with other countries.

    I am not 100% behind the economic aspect of this definition; but definitely on the political. Economically, I DO believe that we should cut back relations with other countries, but not so sure if we could do it. I am trying to think of what we would absolutely need from other countries and cannot think of anything. Prices here would definitely skyrocket.

    I’ll close by saying that I’ve not thoroughly thought out this comment.

Tell the Dragon what you think.... Any opinions?

