Happy Spring and Baby Oil Fragrance


Sorry for not writing, I’ve not been inspired of late. I also finished my log cabin blanket which is the reason I got to bed at 2am last night and the reason I am up so late today. Today is the Tuesday challenge, so will scoot on over to One Million Blogs For Peace to see what it is and write about it tonight when I get out to write on it.

Happy Spring to everyone out there. Today is the first really mild day we’ve gotten so far. Today is going to be in the 70’s… whoo hoo! Despite our late start (got up over an hour late) we will definitely get out to enjoy the weather. Everything is in sync. I feel okay, Little Drake only has a little rash which we think is due to the fragrance in a new baby oil I bought.

You know, when you see a name that is synonymous with quality baby care, a name you trust and you think everything is good. Safe. Well, recently we saw that was NOT true with dog and cat food with rat poison inside it; and so it is with J&J (Johnson & Johnson). They make these new products with fragrance… lavender, chamomile, some other ones. I wanted to try the lavender one and because the package was purple. I wonder every time I see how companies market their products. The oil, itself, is not purple, just the bottle. It’s definitely more appealing and you “think” you are getting something more, in some way, when you are not. Amazing. The label reads, “GENTLE”. You think it’s okay, but the fragrance is really a chemical and is really only as gentle as the level of tolerance of the baby skin that it’s put on. My son does have sensitive skin, so I should have realized it or just used a little on him. My husband knew what the problem was right away because he also has very sensitive skin. Working at L’Oreal probably adds to his certainty of what the problem was.

Up until now, I had always used unrefined shea butter on my baby’s skin and never had a problem. I used the lavender baby oil two times after his bath and a few days ago, I noticed that he had a bit of a rash, or little bumps that you only notice if you touch them. Today, they do not look worse, he does not have a temperature and he is definitely his bubbly self; so will just call the doctor’s office and they will just tell me to watch it.

I will unceremoniously end my post here because somebody smells of poopie and then we’re outta here!

About dragonmommie

I am a wife and mother of an amazing eight year old boy. When school starts, I don the hat of “advocate”. This is very new to me and so, like everything else in my life right now, a necessary transition. I can see already that I will be honing my communication skills as well as sharpening my assertiveness. I am married to an amazing man, who, spoils me to no end. Not in a material way... NO I'm wrong. When he can, he does spoil me materially as he is well acquainted with my infatuation and love all electronic gadgets. I am a self professed EGG, “Electronic Gadget Groupie.” The most important way he spoils me is with taking over attending to our son's needs. My eye has always been caught by sparkly things, the beautiful, and the unique.

Posted on Tuesday, March 27, 2007 ~, in Food/Health Related, motherhood, Peace, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Spring is in the air. It’s 85 here. WOO nice and warm and breezy. Are you going to post pic of the blanket. I think it’ll be cool.

    Aww sorry to hear about Little Drake’s rashy rash. I have somewhat senestive skin too. Well I just don’t like lotions and oils really in general. I don’t like feel greasy and stuff. BLAH.

  2. Hey Justin… It seriously is teetering on 80 over here. Warm and breezy here, too… and I LOVE THAT!

    I have a link to a pic of the blanket on my knitting blog. I will bold it for you as this theme does not really show links that well.

    LD is doing fine… he’s out right now with his dad, they went to the park. You can get some of those lotions that will sink into your skin. I love unrefined shea butter and “Moisture Therapy” from Avon is really good, too. That one never feels greasy.

Tell the Dragon what you think.... Any opinions?

