redSecond Tuesday Topic
Tuesday, 27 March 2007
Have you convinced anyone else to change their opinion about the Iraq War?
If so, describe that experience and how you convinced them.
If not, imagine what would change your mind if you felt differently about the War.

When I read these questions this morning, I thought to myself, “Uh oh, I have nothing to say,” and I really don’t have anything new to add here. I even had a second thought as to whether I was qualified to participate in this activity. I am glad to say that hesitation was short lived.

Let me say that I’ve read Grace’s post and have found that my experience talking about this war is pretty much the same as hers. I have a history of being a little “flaky” in my family, so I have as yet to collect a little credibility of my own to present to them… on pretty much all issues. So, I’ve decided to start writing and see what comes out.

I do manage to put my opinion out there whenever I can. That is something that I can do. I will keep reading blogs and gather information for my arsenal. I strive to make sure that I take note of sources and names of the people whose opinions I am carrying around. Basically, I am a non-confrontational person. I hate confrontations, and there is no way that I am going to get into a battle of words with anyone about the war. I mean, I hate violence and verbal violence is just as distasteful to me as the physical kind. I was married to a verbally abusive husband, the first time around, for eight years and I simply refuse to fuel the fires of that kind of violence. As Grace said, these people are set in their ways, opinions are already entrenched. With that said, however, I will not back down from voicing my opinion should I get caught up into a discussion. I will unload my arsenal, but then what? We will come to a stale mate and there will be nowhere else to go, except out the door. Why is it that I feel so powerless to change an already made up mind? Grace said it. Explosive Topic, but also my own mental paralysis when stress builds up in a confrontation. I’ve gotten a lot better at conducting my side of a debate, but I have to admit that I am so uneducated. Knowledge is power. I do not have enough of it, at this time, on this topic aside from how I “feel” about it; and this stunts communication of my position. I have been listening to political talk shows on the radio and I am hoping to build up my arsenal.

I have absolutely no confidence in our present government. I am a democrat, yet I really liked Ronald Reagan in the white house. I think he did a great job and the country was doing well under his watch. I would like to invite people to comment here on that. Maybe I am disillusioned… I don’t know. Oh, I’ll take this opportunity to plug a book I read a while ago, “The Reagans: Portrait of a Marriage”. Really great book and I don’t usually read this type of book.

Okay, that is about it for this weeks topic for me. I will be reading the other blogs writing on the subject. If you are interested, you can go here to get a list of the blogs signed up for the One Million Blogs for Peace.

