Tuesday Topic


Okay. This one I cannot bear to do. The assignment for today was to simply post a picture of the Iraq War and talk about it. Simple, right? Not so simple. I saw some images tonight that are literally still turning my stomach; yet, if I posted a picture of less impact, less GOREY, that would be avoiding the raw truth of what is happening over there.

I think I’ve already mentioned that, as a mother, I am worried sick that my 2 year old son will be recruited, or drafted in the future. After seeing these pictures, I realize how so out of touch I really am with the realities of the wider world. I wonder at how easy I’ve had it up to now and I wonder when/if the shoe will fall. I feel guilty because I have a good life and there are people out there in the world, in Iraq, who are like me, just trying to live and they live in horror, in fear of that shoe falling every day…. I am so weak.

AND the shoe falls every single day.

Time runs on in our little, private bubbles in the U.S.

How long until our time runs out?

We need to get out of the war.

Now.

About dragonmommie

I am a wife and mother of an amazing eight year old boy. When school starts, I don the hat of “advocate”. This is very new to me and so, like everything else in my life right now, a necessary transition. I can see already that I will be honing my communication skills as well as sharpening my assertiveness. I am married to an amazing man, who, spoils me to no end. Not in a material way... NO I'm wrong. When he can, he does spoil me materially as he is well acquainted with my infatuation and love all electronic gadgets. I am a self professed EGG, “Electronic Gadget Groupie.” The most important way he spoils me is with taking over attending to our son's needs. My eye has always been caught by sparkly things, the beautiful, and the unique.

Posted on Tuesday, April 10, 2007 ~, in Peace, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. I agree, time to get out of this war that we should have never been in. This has to one of the worst decisions this country has made.
    Remember to live in the present and not get lost in what could be happening 16 years from now. I lot will change between now and then.

  2. tobeme…
    Thanks for your response. I know what you say is the truth… but I can’t help it. While I do not worry all the time about the future, the past seems to be writing it and it gets worse as the years go by. Makes me wonder what the next imperialistic decision this “democratic” country will be making.

  3. My kids are 20 and 19, DM! You know how many times I’ve thought about the real chance that the InsaneInPower will reinstate the draft?? 😦 God help us all.

    I KNOW… lol.. I am projecting too far ahead and there are so many out there who have more pressing worries.

  4. Isn’t it interesting no one “important” ‘s kid has to go on the front line. Though apparently Prince Harry of England is going to Iraq. I wonder what they’ll make him do?

    I wonder that, myself!

Tell the Dragon what you think.... Any opinions?

