First Hand Description of Partial Birth Abortion


I didn’t mean to be, but I am upset again over this abortion issue. I just clicked on one of the referrals that link to my blog out of curiosity, and I found the search page that had led the person to my blog. I will not go into the details now because I already did so in my previous post, “Who’s More Deeply Disturbed”. I will just post the link to a nurses’ description of what she saw. Keep in mind that before she attended this so-called doctor, she was “Pro-Choice”.

http://www.nrlc.org/abortion/pba/pbacampaign.html

Sorry about this could-be-construed-as-a-rant, but I can’t help it. It’s always been my desire to share what I am feeling, at the time I feel it as that is when my emotions have the most clarity for me. After the fact documenting, has always produced fuzzy accounts of what is really in my head and heart.

UPDATE: 5/03/07, 12:30pm~ I just want to add this quote from the link above:

“The partial-birth abortion procedure is used in the fifth month and later. The difference between partial-birth abortion and homicide is a mere three inches….”

About dragonmommie

I am a wife and mother of an amazing eight year old boy. When school starts, I don the hat of “advocate”. This is very new to me and so, like everything else in my life right now, a necessary transition. I can see already that I will be honing my communication skills as well as sharpening my assertiveness. I am married to an amazing man, who, spoils me to no end. Not in a material way... NO I'm wrong. When he can, he does spoil me materially as he is well acquainted with my infatuation and love all electronic gadgets. I am a self professed EGG, “Electronic Gadget Groupie.” The most important way he spoils me is with taking over attending to our son's needs. My eye has always been caught by sparkly things, the beautiful, and the unique.

Posted on Thursday, May 3, 2007 ~, in abortion, Rants/Opinions, Society & Culture. Bookmark the permalink. 11 Comments.

  1. I did not go to the link, for I don’t desire to read about the gory details. I can understand why you are upset. This is a very emotional issue.

  2. Thanks, tobeme… I am really surprised at how strongly all this is affecting me; and I certainly would not label myself an activist. Though I am Catholic, I’ve always took the stance that I can’t control what anyone else does and had sort of an aura of acceptance of things I cannot control. I think after I had my son and experiencing, first hand the miracle and gift babies are to us, just makes me want to cry when I see stuff like this. The feeling of powerlessness is overpowering when I feel that something should be done.

    I simply cannot abide the idea that the unborn are “items”, for a lack of better wording, that can just be flushed away, or removed from our bodies without a second thought or glance. The link I posted had no disturbing pictures, though there were links there to such pics. The description was brief and not exactly graphic, so I did not have a problem linking to it.

    Babies can be perceived as a consequence or a blessing. I believe that all women/mothers can view them as a blessing, if only they look beyond themselves for just a minute. Sure, they are a responsibility, but so much is personally gained, so much joy that erases the burden of responsibility.

    tobeme… I remember your response to my previous post. I do appreciate ANY comments you make to my writings.

  3. dragonmommie,
    I read your earlier post about the partial birth abortion ban and now this one. I have always been pro-choice in the first trimester, but this procedure is just murder plain and simple, and it has gotten me thinking about where I stand on the whole issue. Partial birth abortion is gory and disgusting, but everyone should be shown the procedure on the national news. Maybe then the rhetoric about women’s bodies as islands unto themselves and the word avoidance when it comes to medical procedures would disappear on the feminist side. Great posts.

  4. Wow, mysteryofiniquity, that’s an honor coming from you and to have you comment on my blog! I have your blog on my blog surfer and you are an awesome writer. The last thing I read was last night, with that video of Mark Driscoll… ugh what a jerk! I usually get to reading things late, so I don’t really like to repeat what others have already said.

    I do agree with you, this “medical procedure” should be aired on national news… prime time. Let people try to explain to their kids what this really is… or try to hide what it really is. I do believe that there are women out there getting this done to them, without full realization what is actually happening to them and their baby. While I do believe there are cold, callous women out there, not caring; I believe there are more ignorant young women out there, not knowing because their own doctors minimalize and hide the facts. It can’ be that these doctors are proud of what they are doing…(I could, of course, be wrong).

    In general, I think it should be aired to educate the public. I think when it’s discussed by people in power, making the laws, it’s spoken about in abbreviated form and terms. When I hear discussion about it on the radio, it’s certainly the cleaned up version. People need to know the full, down and dirty version, the raw truth…. for if they can’t stand the truth, they have no business making this “okay” in the public eye.

  5. In regards to partial abortions, I think you’re right in that there are lot of uneducated, misguided people about there about it procedure. I really don’t some women, know exactly what they are doing. They just see abortion and understand, the bases. While I will also agree that this does need national attention. We can slap Anna Nicole on primte time for weeks, why can’t PA’s a 10 mins with Peter Jennings right. I clicked the link today, and read some of the nurses statments.. Powerful words indeed. I’m proud of you for standing strong and proud in something that you believe, and above all eduating people out there on the issue.

    You adoptive-blogging son..Justin

  6. dragonmommie,
    I’m honored that you like my site! Driscoll is a piece of work and needs to be exposed. I mean come on! Sex every night? I can’t even make dinner every night!

    But seriously, it’s very hard to find any willing to stand up and say this procedure is just plain wrong. I’ve admitted to lacking the courage and I’m a feminist, just not a radical one!

  7. Hi, DM…I applaud you for standing up and voicing your opinion on this. Terminating a pregnancy – at any stage – is a highly charged, emotional issue. I respect your sincerity and passion on this very much.

    I am a woman who believes in every woman’s right to reproductive choice. HOWEVER, I believe any and all choices should be made by NO LATER than the 5th WEEK. With today’s technology, a woman can find out if she’s pregnant within DAYS of conception. If she wasn’t able to prevent an unwanted pregnancy PRIOR to having sex, then there is no excuse for waiting any longer than just a few days afterwards to end it.

    I am of the agreement that Partial Birth abortions are simply legalized murders in utero.

  8. Thank you, everybody for your support. Every so often I click on some the links that refer people to my blog. When I saw this issue all over again, I just thought to bring that page to more eyes. I mean, the slaughter houses are more humane to the animals they slaughter than our doctors are to human beings!

    It’s not too difficult for me to speak out about this because it’s SO obvious to me that this is wrong. GRACE, I do agree that women can find out if they are pregnant within days and that there is no excuse for them to terminate an unwanted pregnancy then, however, my religious beliefs kick in here and I would not have an abortion at any stage. I do respect everyone’s opinion and would never judge anyone…. though, these PBA’s are just plain murder.

    Mysteryofiniquity: I have to admit that sometimes I am intimidated by your blog and hesitate to comment fearing that I would be getting in over my head intellectually! I agree Driscoll is a disillusioned man. I mean, he is admitting that, what, 60% of “the ladies” are active in the church, yet he pushes them aside for the demographic of men least likely to go to church AT ALL. You are right, the place for him to preach IS the graveyard. Re PBA, you hit it on the head in your first comment, “avoidance”. People do not want to look at this issue because they KNOW how wrong it is, without even knowing the full gory details… they do NOT want to go there.

    Justin: I agree… Anna Nichole Smith was all over the media! I don’t have any faith in the so called media to bring out this issue, or ANY issue of this magnitude. They do not want to rock the boat and that is how it’s been for ages…. Oh MAN, Justin… I am your new mommie! Remember, I am watching you!

  9. Dragonmommie,
    Never be afraid to jump into the stream of conversation! I only act intellectual! 🙂

  10. Thanks Mysteryofiniquity! I think that I only act intellectual, as well. Sometimes I feel that I am, then I come across someone who soars HIGH above me and I get dizzy looking up.

  1. Pingback: Don’t Sacrifice Your children | as Jules is going

Tell the Dragon what you think.... Any opinions?

