Ooooo… A Start-of-the-Summer-Quiz


I found this on 4/28/1999 and it helped change my life.  I publish it here in hopes that someone, just like me 8 years ago, will read it and carry it forward.

A quiz.  Can anyone tell me who wrote this WITHOUT googling it?  I will, of course, publish the correct information in a couple of days.

Having a Great Summer?  Today was DH’s first day back to work after a week off.  He’s recovering on the sofa from culture shock.

??????????

Our deepest fear is not that we are inadequate.
Our deepest fear is that we are powerful beyond measure.
It is our light, not our darkness that most frightens us.
We ask ourselves, who am I to be brilliant, gorgeous,
talented and fabulous?
Actually, who are you NOT to be?
You are a child of God.

Your playing small doesn’t serve the world.
There is nothing enlightened about shrinking
so that other people won’t feel insecure around you.
We were born to make manifest the glory of God that is within us.
It is not just in some of us:
It is in everyone.

And when we let our own light shine,
we unconsciously give other people permission to do the same.
As we are liberated from our fear,
our presence automatically liberates others.

About dragonmommie

I am a wife and mother of an amazing eight year old boy. When school starts, I don the hat of “advocate”. This is very new to me and so, like everything else in my life right now, a necessary transition. I can see already that I will be honing my communication skills as well as sharpening my assertiveness. I am married to an amazing man, who, spoils me to no end. Not in a material way... NO I'm wrong. When he can, he does spoil me materially as he is well acquainted with my infatuation and love all electronic gadgets. I am a self professed EGG, “Electronic Gadget Groupie.” The most important way he spoils me is with taking over attending to our son's needs. My eye has always been caught by sparkly things, the beautiful, and the unique.

Posted on Monday, June 11, 2007 ~, in Life, Words Of Wisdom, Writing. Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Marianne Williamson, and it’s one of my FAVORITE quotes, DM!!! It’s often mistakening quoted as belonging to Nelson Mandela…he used it as part of his inaugural speech.

    🙂

  2. WOW Grace, I have it as being Nelson Mandela, too! I have to confess that I never got around to reading the whole speech, but I am going to look up Marianne Williamson. I am so glad you revealed the true author.

  1. Pingback: ~Dragon’s Yen~ Winner Announced «

Tell the Dragon what you think.... Any opinions?

