Happy June 12th !


Today is my Birthday and the weather is a little cloudy here, but very cool (so far) without discernable humidity and that is exactly the way I like it. I am waiting for the little one to make his poopies before going out. Normally, I would not wait, but this morning he’s been “meaningfully” standing by the windows and poopies seem to appear, coincidentially, right around the same time…. so we wait. The wait shouldn’t be too long, but he knows that I’m on to him and he’s been running from window to window, then to the back door, which is opened with the screen door locked.

I wish you guys can hear our chimes. I can hear them from anywhere in the house, though they are on the front porch. They are not those little tinkily ones. They are deeper, the sound richer, and they resonate deep inside me. Late at night, I can hear them faintly, but clear as a bell….. okay, it’s 2 hours+ later. Little Drake came in, pressing his diaper saying, “pee pee”. I took one look and it looked darker than usual down there and jumped up to get his diaper changed. It was pudding poopie. Is that a little too graphic for ya? Well, this is what us moms have for subject matter. Gave the baby chocolate pudding two days ago, and well, it revisited today. So funny. He kept calling it “dirt”. Then, my sister called to wish me “Happy Birthday” and stayed on with her for over an hour. Something that doesn’t happen too often because she works, but this is her day off. She was making sausage bread, but apparently, there was no chance that we would be bringing it over for my BD.

Another obstacle to enjoying homemade sausage bread is that I have an appointment tonight to donate platelets. Yeah, I know; but it’s my birthday! Actually, this would be something I very much want to do on my BD. It’s something special… and I get to go out alone. Plus, this just happens to be my Night Out Day. For those of you who do not know, I am a Platelet donor. They call it “Apheresis” and an account of my first donation is here. Today will be my second donation, but not because I haven’t tried. Because of my limited availability, I need to make an appointment well in advance; so this one was made over a month ago. When they called yesterday to confirm the appt, I made my next one, which just happens to fall on DH’s birthday. We will have plenty of time to do something for his day because he gets out of work at 2pm and my appt is not until 7pm. Our birthdays always fall on the same day of the week. How cool is that? Well, I think it is.

I think about our life, our little family unit life. We live a quiet existence from day to day. I note that I’ve settled myself down quite a bit after marrying DH. I look at those around us who are not so lucky and realize that if even any one of us were taken out of the equation, life would be so different and much less happy. I think that my and my baby’s life would be so different if “Daddie” were taken away from us. I would not have the luxury of staying at home and leisurely doing things with my son at a moment’s notice, or not like just staying home to chill out. In that cruel world, I’d have to work full time, with my baby in the hands of a stranger. I don’t even know how I’d be able to do it because my salary has never approached what I’d have to shell out for a caregiver; and NOW after not working for over 2 years what could I possibly make. My disposition would probably be a miserable one, rushing around everywhere, being short with my son or even lashing out at him. HE would be the prime and most vulnerable target to take the hurtful blows of a widowed wife, lashing out in her grief, anger and frustration.  This perpetually happy boy would not be so happy any longer.

I definitely could write more graphic about other scenarios looming at the front of my brain, but refuse to because that is not the point right now. Today, above all days, I need to count my blessings. The first one being the birth of Debra Marie Sedita on June 12, 1961 in Brooklyn, NY. I used to think that my life was pointless and could never see where my life was going… or how I could be happy going wherever I was meant to go. Now, I can finally see through the mist, my course steady.  I now have the information I need to steer my ship. I know now where I need to go; and for now, it’s raising a toddler  boy… and an adult boy (at times!). For the first time in my life I know what I need to do… I need to do whatever it takes to make it possible for my boy to grow into the best man he can possibly be. Wow, that is a tall order!  I gain more and more clarity every single day.  I need to be supportive and present opportunities, where I can. Mostly, I just need to be true to myself and present that to my son.  Be an example.  It’s a 24/7 job… but I don’t look at it as being a job, it’s a life, it’s living. I need to teach by example, so focusing on my own life will, in turn, benefit my child. I am forever grateful for my life and what I’ve learned so far. In my short 46 years, I’ve learned so much and need to pass it on.

I shall close today with this beloved quote. Another beauty that has really shaped my life. If anyone knows the author, I would really appreciate if you could enlighten me.

I shall pass through this world but once.
Any good therefore that I can do
or any kindness that
I can show to any human being
let me do it now.
Let me not defer or neglect it,
for I shall not pass this way again.
Author Unknown

About dragonmommie

I am a wife and mother of an amazing eight year old boy. When school starts, I don the hat of “advocate”. This is very new to me and so, like everything else in my life right now, a necessary transition. I can see already that I will be honing my communication skills as well as sharpening my assertiveness. I am married to an amazing man, who, spoils me to no end. Not in a material way... NO I'm wrong. When he can, he does spoil me materially as he is well acquainted with my infatuation and love all electronic gadgets. I am a self professed EGG, “Electronic Gadget Groupie.” The most important way he spoils me is with taking over attending to our son's needs. My eye has always been caught by sparkly things, the beautiful, and the unique.

Posted on Tuesday, June 12, 2007 ~, in Apheresis, Blessings, Diabetes, Family, Life, Platelet Donation. Bookmark the permalink. 18 Comments.

  1. Happy Birthday! I wish you happiness, health and love always! 🙂

  2. Woooo WHoooooooo!!!

    Happy Birthday to youuuuuuuuu
    Happy Birthday to youuuuuuuuu
    Happy Birthday, dear Debbieeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee
    Happy Birthday to youuuuuuuu
    and
    many
    moreeeeeeeeeeee

    🙂 xoxox

  3. Crazymommy and Grace…
    Thank you, both, so much! My DH brought me blueberry pie without “added” sugar and we had a nice little private celebration. You have to understand, he is a sort of “non” celebratory kind of person… but he’s got the biggest heart I’ve ever seen. He really doesn’t need a “birthday” to do something special for me… geez, remember the iphone incident? If you missed it, I little while back I had to actually talk him OUT of getting it for me. I sort of went on a rant here:
    https://dragonmommie.wordpress.com/2007/05/27/immaterially-speaking-of-the-material/

  4. Happy (late) birthday! I hope your day rocked!

  5. Dear Debbie!
    Happy Birthday and all that!
    Robert-Gilles

  6. Thank you, Robert! The worst BD was my 25th one. I had heard so much hype about that one making me “old”. Then the day came and went and I did not feel any different. After that, they all were a piece of cake!… and this year it was blueberry pie (no sugar added)

    I am so glad I got past that birthday thing early on. It made for a pretty enjoyable life! Now if I can just get my glasses to fit right.

  7. Hi, It’s great to read about person’s same birthday !
    My birth date and year 6/12/61
    Great website! Your extremely talented! Love your fabulous
    knit wear 🙂
    I live in California
    Have a great rest of the Year
    Regina

  8. Hi Regina…
    I love hearing about people who have my birthday, too. How are you handling being a gemini? Oh, I forgot… that comes natural to you! But really, can get crazy sometimes. I am in Elizabeth, NJ~ a whole continent away.
    Have a great year!

  9. Hello dragonmommie,
    To answer your June 12, 2007 question,
    the author is Stephan Grellet and a link is:
    http://thinkexist.com/quotation/i_expect_to_pass_through_this_world_but_once-any/14817.html

    I think he changed several words but pretty much the idea stays the same. Hope this helps!
    I found your post due to my aphreresis problems, too low hemoglobin levels, plus forgetting that I had this problem once before…. got to start eating more iron-rich foods.
    The closest donation site is not near and after having to pay tolls etc. I was extremely frustrated. But this is a good cause… though I am part of the AB population…
    I haven’t had a platelet donation over a while … what helps? tums? calcium? no caffeine? thanks.
    waiting several weeks before I try again – wish me luck.

  10. Hi Sydney…
    Thank you so much for that link to Stephan Grellet! I’ll certainly check it out. I just love that quote and I don’t think the words are changed all that much, the message is still there.

    Yes, I know all about the frustrations of getting to a donation site and what those frustrations do to your temperature and what happens when your temp is a little too high. They reject you…. ugh.. I hate that! One time I actually had to force myself on them because I was very sure that I was not sick and that it was the actual driving there that was what affected me. It had just happened to me one too many times where I was fine the whole day, then after driving to the hospital, I felt hot in the head…. in more ways than one!

    I was just told to eat foods high in iron… especially red meat, a few days prior to donation. I also make sure I take vitamins with iron in them… I even take iron supplements, but not too often because it can constipate you. You’ve got to drink tons of water to keep hydrated, too, which is something you should be doing anyway. Also, do not take aspirin or anything that can thin the blood before donating. I think it’s 48 hours prior… but not 100% certain on that… you can easily check by asking whoever calls you to make appointments. Those people should know.. AND advise you of that every time they make an appointment with you. I do not abstain from caffeine… but I do go easy on it the day before and the day of my donation.

    My favorite iron-rich foods are the red meat, fresh spinach, fresh broccli rabe,… oh, just found this link. It’s a list of iron-rich foods… yes, and remember that iron from raw food is absorbed better. Check it out:

    http://www.loveyourbaby.com/iron-rich-food-list.html

    GOOD LUCK!!!!

  11. Hi Regina:
    Your link to the iron-rich food website helped a lot… I really loaded on those foods…along with iron pills. I got rejected twice already before going the iron pill route. It worked!
    They said yesterday I had a lot of platelets waiting to be donated … it didn’t hurt and overall the wait was not that bad.
    Took 2 hours for the whole process and I didn’t have any complications… had the tingling in the lips but that went away fast and an ipod helps with the waiting… The hardest was not drinking coffee in the morning. I’m scheduled for the whole month of April… and the best birthday gift I could get (April 21st) for finally being able to donate platelets!
    Thanks!

  12. Hi Sydney… I’m not sure if you’re commenting on the correct blog because my name is Debbie, but I do see that we shared some experiences with donating platelets.

    I’m so glad that you had such a good experience. I also have a lot of platelets and have been giving triple donations that take me just 90 minutes or so.

    Scheduled for the whole month of April?…. You GO SYDNEY!

  13. Hi Debbie:
    You’re right – I WAS in a hurry, picked up the wrong blog and should have known better… 🙂 and always spell check. They opened up the platelet site back in my old hometown, persistence pays off (this was 2 years of asking them to reopen the site – last time I donated platelets was back in 2000). Now I don’t have to go to the next county to donate platelets. I didn’t mind but the constant rejection due to iron count was frustrating! Eating the right foods does help too. The whole process may take more than 1 hour (it was 2 for me) and they may be slow getting started so plan for stuff like that. Catching up on missed platelet donations 🙂
    Your shawls are so wonderful to look at, I wish I had your talent as I am still trying to figure out how to knit as well.

  14. Loved checking your blogs…the myspace videos and the potato soup recipe, which I will try over the weekend. You are so busy! How do you do it and with kids? My friend says she never has enough time, she’s always doing stuff for her kids.
    BTW, your tips led to 4 great platelet donations since April/May and many more to come. Any plans for your birthday next month?

  15. Hey Sydney! I’m so glad to hear that you’ve had good experiences with platelet donations.

    Ha… what time? As you can see, I’ve been MIA for awhile here. I can’t even remember my last post…. though I just happen to be working on one for my knitting blog and hopefully, it will be uploaded tonight. I’ve been really busy with the fiber art and that takes up a LOT of my spare time, almost all of it.

    My last donation was about a month ago, but I had a little problem and have been hesitating doing another one for awhile. At my last donation, the pressure on the return trip for my blood got too high and, though they did lower that, I experienced a weird pressure-related symptom afterwards. Nothing to worry about, but at the time, I thought that my vein was going to blow! Wow, that’s pretty strong wording, but I can get paranoid quite quickly! I’m okay now and maybe I will see about doing another birthday donation.

    Thanks so much for stopping by and I think I’ll write about my last experience for this blog pretty soon…. I have to tear myself away from my fiber!

  16. Hey Debbie:
    How have you and your family been? Great blogs!!!
    Going tomorrow to a new apheresis donation site….this time my hubby is coming with me!!! He’s O-negative so they love him (I’m going to try to get him to donate)… I am doing an apheresis donation tomorrow at 8 AM so I’ve been loading up on the iron this week… and this time I won’t get lost finding the place – I mapquested it. Eating a lot of figs, prunes, apricots, red meat, etc. Hope this works…I haven’t done this in a while due to all the wedding stresses…we got married 6/27/09 and went to Vegas for the honeymoon…it was great! We had fun.
    I did get the tingling sensations you mentioned but that went away after a while. I think I goggled that and it said something about calcium intake… overall the apheresis process takes me about 2 hours at least. Thanks.

    • have to keep this short as i cut my hand this morning… but congrats on your marriage! they give you tums for the tingling… it has to do with the calcium in it, i’m pretty sure. my dad is O-, but he refuses to donate…grrrrr. thanks for donating!

  17. Sorry to hear you cut your hand…I always do that when I am rushing in the morning making lunch… Thank you for the nice wishes….we had a great ceremony at the church and reception…it didn’t rain on the one day that mattered the most to us…should have seen the rain the date before! My hubby is O- but he hasn’t donated in awhile. He was very nice to take me to the donation center today…and waited for me while I donated. I’m the universal receipient….and they love me for giving platelets. If you would like to see the wedding pics, email me your address 🙂 Thanks.

Tell the Dragon what you think.... Any opinions?

