I’m disappointed. Last night I got rejected to donate platelets because my blood pressure and temperature was too high. I get a headache just as I was going there. I tried to have it done anyway, but they said they couldn’t because the process would aggravate my headache and I certainly didn’t want that since I still had to drive all the way across my county to get back home in thunderstorm weather. But still, I really wanted to do this on my birthday. I can only think that there was a higher reason for this rejection.

I have some thoughts about birthdays in general. Some people really need for their birthdays to be special occasions and especially need their spouses to mark the day in some really special manner. I can honestly say that I don’t need that. That blueberry pie last night was as grand as a special birthday cake… which I can’t/shouldn’t have anyway. But this was not always so with me. As a kid, I couldn’t wait for my day to come and see what presents I would get. Invariably, I always got something that I “needed”, not something that I particularly “wanted”. One year, however, I received a 35mm Canon AE-1 camera, then another year I received a tv set, both from my parents. I actually still have the tv set, though have no idea if it still works since it was new on my 21st birthday.

To get back on the track, I realize that if you are a person who is accustomed to making a big thing out of your birthday every year, the year that comes and goes without the usual fanfare is the year that you start to feel your age. I don’t know, it’s just something that came to me a little while ago. I mean, it’s been a long while since I had a birthday celebration. It really just comes and goes just like any other day, maybe with the addition of personal reflection about my life, my age, mortality, legacy, etc. This year especially, I hardly noticed except when I was driving to my blood appointment and a playful thought sneaked in when the nurse asked me my date of birth. I said the date searching for some form of recognition from the nurse, but she did not flinch, let alone make a comment. But that’s okay. She probably was at the end of a long day.

I kept thinking of my sister who is 11 months younger than I. From May 18th to June 12th, we are the same age. I am guessing that she is relieved now that I am older than she, again, for the 45th time. She is always poking at me to color my hair. Her famous line is, “People who see us together will know by your gray hairs, how old I am.” What a hoot. Now she has a sister, correction: an older sister with an orange streak in the front…. yes, I streaked my hair again with the very same Color Waves kit. I have one more kit to go. This time I think it looks better because I strictly stuck to just the gray streak in the front and one streak underneath, on each side.

Gotta run now as I’ll be taking my funny boy outside. Yesterday he clearly said, “ambulance” . So exciting! He says all syllables very clearly. Not like “helicopter”, where he’s got the number of syllables correct, but says, “hel-hi-ha-ha”. So, in my book he already knows two complicated words! It’s a good thing we live in the city and regularly hear the sirens and helicopters, traffic and police.

Have a great day!

