Think I’m Just Another Nut Case?


Just a short note….

Well, it appears that I’m not such a crazy kook.  Justin, of The Justification of Justin, commented on yesterday’s post.  He provided a link for a Yahoo Tech news article called, “Microchips everywhere:  A future vision”.  It’s about the very real possibility of electronic chips, called “tags”, being embedded in just about everything.  Tags.  A nice internet savy name, or tag if you will, for something that will track and report on your every movement.

The technology is here.

It’s only a matter of time….

years, weeks, days, hours, minutes, seconds?  Some things are already tagged and we are oblivious. Who owns an ezpass?  Ever get a ticket because you were tagged with it as you went through a toll too quickly?  Do you have a cell phone?  GPS device?  Laptop?  Desktop?  Do you wear underwear?

Yes, it could happen.  The cost of manufacturing these tags is plunging down to the point where it’s feasible to tag trillions of objects, just about everything we buy. This is something very scary.  I am afraid for myself and for my 2 year old kid who will be living in a world without privacy.

This just makes me very sick

About dragonmommie

I am a wife and mother of an amazing eight year old boy. When school starts, I don the hat of “advocate”. This is very new to me and so, like everything else in my life right now, a necessary transition. I can see already that I will be honing my communication skills as well as sharpening my assertiveness. I am married to an amazing man, who, spoils me to no end. Not in a material way... NO I'm wrong. When he can, he does spoil me materially as he is well acquainted with my infatuation and love all electronic gadgets. I am a self professed EGG, “Electronic Gadget Groupie.” The most important way he spoils me is with taking over attending to our son's needs. My eye has always been caught by sparkly things, the beautiful, and the unique.

Posted on Saturday, January 26, 2008 ~, in Product Review, Rants/Opinions, Society & Culture and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 8 Comments.

  1. DM,
    Nut Case YOU….Nahhhh

    I do think that privacy will become a big issue soon. What are people willing to give up in order to feel safe. I mean it’s a lose lose situation.

  2. Privacy is being compromised right now and people don’t realize it. Oh well, I’ll have to put a lid on it and stop beating a dead horse…. for now!

  3. We all live in a “cut case” world! I suppose each of us have our percentage of nuttiness! lol!

  4. It does cause us to pause and think. Thanks for invoking our thoughts on this.

  5. Sham… You are so right and knowing that, does give me a bit of comfort. I know it’s not a “bad” thing.

    I drove by your blog at about 60 MPH. I liked what I saw and will come by soon, taking the scenic route.

  6. tobeme… thanks for your comment. That is really what I want, just to provoke some thoughts… though it’s still scary for me to think about.

  7. Im not christian, but I dont like the veratags, I grew up with the religion, and as paranoia goes, I can get pretty bad. After I deconverted, I realized that whoever was putting “tags” into everything, was just furthering an agenda, to make the christians believe whatever THEY want them to. I plan to fight back in my own way, and it will be nasty.

  8. I was hoping to see some dragon pics. Lovely kids btw, ive got one of my own. His name is Arthur.

Tell the Dragon what you think.... Any opinions?

