Pita Chips For the Snacking


Homemade Pita Chips

This just a quickie.  Tomorrow will be writing about Little Drake’s (remember him?) birthday; but for right now, I want to share this great little recipe for the most delish homemade pita chips.

Very simple really.  You know how sometimes we don’t consume a purchased amount of product, then end up throwing it out… OR feed the birds?  Well, we have a bird problem in my neck of the woods, precisely because my neighbor feeds them.  Every week my car gets bombed with pigeon doody and it sckseeves me out, totally; and I’m steadfastly refuse to contribute to the problem.  Seriously, one time, well, several times there were bread slices on the roof of the garage and whole half loaves of artesian bread sitting in our driveway.

So, last week I had a high volume of breadstuffs left over from a gathering at the house, and one was an almost whole package of pita pockets.  Ten big, fresh pockets which proceeded to get hard by the end of the week.  I’m an advocate for DIY’ing anything I can and knew that I could do this.

Okay, so before I get into this recipe, please note that there are no exact measurements.  Just throw the stuff in, to your taste.  If you don’t like garlic, then by all means don’t use it.  You can use any herbs you like, as little or as much as you want.  Have a problem with salt?  You don’t have to use it….

  1. Preheat your oven to 400 deg., line a shallow cookie pan with aluminum foil.
  2. Prepare herb oil by heating up 1-2 cups of olive oil, then adding sea salt, garlic-I use Goya Garlic paste in the glass jar, rosemary, oregano.  Mix that up real well, then set aside.  I had this mixture already in the fridge, so if you are using something you already have, just heat it up a bit in the microwave, just so that all the oil is melted and back into liquid form.
  3. Cut up your round pita into eight or so triangle pieces.  Remember that these will be snackable chips.  Arrange these slices all over your lined pan.
  4. Bush herb oil mixture all over your pita slices.
  5. Pop into the oven for 7-10 minutes.  You must keep checking as these can burn pretty quickly and if I remember correctly, I did not readily smell the pitas toasting.  Depending on the brownness, either take them right out, or flip them over to toast the other side…. these will only require a couple of minutes until done.

And that, people, is IT.  These are very sturdy chips and will stay strong through the roughest of spinach dips.  Want to add a little extra something?  Try sprinkling asiago cheese on top before putting into the oven.  What I love about this recipe is that anything goes.  No exact measurements, all ingredients are added to taste.  Don’t like garlic, though it’s good for you, don’t put it into your oil.  Want a sweeter taste?  I’m sure you can brainstorm and maybe add a little honey into the mix.  I’ve never tried that, but I’m thinking it will be some kind of awesome adventure to see how it lends itself to this recipe.  I would just experiment on a few pieces as opposed to whole batches for experiments, however.

Well, I’d love to hear about whatever you come up with!

About dragonmommie

I am a wife and mother of an amazing eight year old boy. When school starts, I don the hat of “advocate”. This is very new to me and so, like everything else in my life right now, a necessary transition. I can see already that I will be honing my communication skills as well as sharpening my assertiveness. I am married to an amazing man, who, spoils me to no end. Not in a material way... NO I'm wrong. When he can, he does spoil me materially as he is well acquainted with my infatuation and love all electronic gadgets. I am a self professed EGG, “Electronic Gadget Groupie.” The most important way he spoils me is with taking over attending to our son's needs. My eye has always been caught by sparkly things, the beautiful, and the unique.

Posted on Monday, March 5, 2012 ~, in Cooking/Recipes, Creativity, Food and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Coleen Sisto Nardello

    I just toss them in some olive oil right on the cookie sheet and sprinkle them with whatever herbs I want. Toast them in the oven flip ’em. As far as sweet ones, I’d like to try cinnamon sugar. But I don’t know if the sugar would burn. I guess I would canola oil instead of olive oil. I can’t seem to make enough of them, everyone loves them! Try with hummus!

Tell the Dragon what you think.... Any opinions?

