imgres                                     imgres-1

It’s after midnight and I’m fuming.  I vowed to write a post, but I’m so tired.  I’m so upset about the Lone Ranger movie.  I’m sick.  I promised Gabe that we’d go see this movie… I was looking forward to it, myself.  It was produced by DISNEY and I automatically felt it was safe to assume it would be appropriate for my boy.  Oh how I was wrong.  I just found out about the extreme violence and the scene where the villain of the movie slices a heart out of a living person and (gulp) eats it.   What the heck?  Where’s the decency?

Yes, as a parent I really should have checked more into this movie, but shit, I’ve been into watching the trailers for weeks now.  I never saw the violence spoken about in the reviews.  Disney’s reputation lulled me into false security.  You know, the almighty Disney Image of princesses and the princes that sweep them off their feet.  I’m boycotting this movie, even though I know full well that I can see it without my son, on the sly.  I would not feel good about that and I’m not about to betray him in that way.  What the heck am I going to tell him after discussing this movie with him for weeks?  After both of us conveying our excitement to each other during those weeks?

Another reason I am pissed is that Disney marketed this violent adult movie to young kids.  Kids that play with Legos.  Lego kids. imgres-2imgres-3

Need I really say more?  Well, I’m making a hard parenting decision and will risk my child’s wrath and severe disappointment– something I try my absolute best to avoid, by somehow explaining why we’re NOT going to see this movie.  At this point, I really wish that I had a much larger readership.  I feel I want to get this out as far and as wide as possible.  Yes, I’ll even pull the “Autism” card.  It’s much harder for autistic children to adapt to changes and I’m quite sure that he’s feeling pretty set that he will see this movie and soon.  He’s smart and knows that July 1st has come and gone…. I PROMISED!  So many things going on right now, did this really need to be one of them?  Today is his dad’s birthday, so maybe he’s be preoccupied with that and some kitchen cooking things I’ve got lined up for the summer.  A reunion picnic coming up, we’ll see how that goes.  One thing I have going for me is that there are a couple of other movies coming out like “Despicable Me2″and “Turbo.” imgres-4

One commenter stated, “My mother let me see the ‘Exorcist’ when I was six and I turned out all right.”  Um, yeah, really?  BTW, how are we supposed to know that you’re “alright?”  Your word is not enough for me.  Yes, this world is changing, but where is it going?  Nowhere I want to be.  I don’t care if there is a lot, OR “just a little” violence.  Violence is nothing different than that and I’m NOT down with my kid being exposed to it at his present tender age of eight years old.  I should’ve known something was up when I realized that Johnny Depp had top billing and that his name is set over Armie Hammer’s name, meaning the main character is Tonto and not the Lone Ranger.  Whaat?  I want the legendary hero and not a caricature!   I also should’ve known something bad was up when they changed the Lone Ranger’s outfit from white (really a light blue when seen in color) to black.  We’ve been showing Gabe the old LR episodes and he’s expecting that… I should point out, however, that he DID point out the difference in the two Tonto’s.  Also, Disney there are so many Native American actors out there who would’ve been better choices than Mr. J.D.  He’s got to wear a lot of blackish makeup to cover up the fact that he’s got white skin… geesh.  I’m not reflecting what critics are saying.  Yes, I did read a few reviews, but as you can see, I have plenty of my own reasons to complain.  I have provided a few random links below and I’ve not read them, so there are no hidden personal agendas regarding reviews.

This is where my kid spends time, in anticipation of going to see the movie, the LEGO Lone Ranger site:

LEGO LONE RANGER home page games to lure them in and products galore to buy.

Oh geez, I’m going to publish this probably too soon, as I often do (AND DID).  Then I’ll spend tomorrow editing and adding stuff I forgot about…. OR maybe I’ll do the right thing and wait.  One thing is VERY sure.  I will be boycotting this movie, and the Lego sets associated with it.  I would boycott Disney, as well, but we really can’t afford to go to Disney amusement parks or purchase special novelty items, so it won’t be too difficult to just  continue to stay away.  My kid will hate me, thank you very much.

