BannerStand

800px-Bookshelf_S7300202

*   *   *   *   *   *   *   *   *   *

Of course I’d like my bookshelf to look like the one on the left, but it looks more like the one the right, but much more of a disaster, with books, papers and misc. stuff I don’t know what to do with, laying on top of books already there and/or sticking out of the front.

As follow-up to yesterday’s post, “Minimalistic Living,” today on compulsion, started to weed out knitting books from my bookshelf.  Let me just say this is the hardest thing I’ve had to do yet.  Books have been a source of comfort and escape my whole life.  It’s hard parting with them, but being assessed on the basis of productivity, I’m lovingly laying them off to the side.

I’ve already put it “out there” to my friends that I’m giving away books.  I don’t know.  I’m tired of looking at stuff and not feeling good or satisfied.  It’s like I still don’t know what I want and grasping at straws.  What I do know is that I only have one bookshelf with three shelves and once that fills up, and the shelves are bowing low, I’ve got to lighten the load.  It kills me to do this, but I’ve already committed to not knitting as much and more importantly, I’ve not really used these books.  So far, I’ve committed to eliminated almost half of my books and I think that’s pretty good.

