th

Daily Prompt: Smell You Later

by michelle w. on August 9, 2013

Humans have very strong scent memory. Tell us about a smell that transports you.

Someone else wrote about the smell of freshly baked bread… and OH how I agree with that; but there IS another smell that I will never forget, smelled it once a good 48 years ago and it’s still so fresh in my head….

…. and that’s the smell of the chocolate at the Hershey’s factory.  It was so strong and permeated the air around me.  I couldn’t get enough of it.  The headiness was not duplicated until my teens when I experimented with marijuana and never again since those days.  They say that when you visit the Hershey factory that after a while the smell sickens you.  I didn’t feel sick but it seemed LOUD, if a smell can be loud.

Godiva_Chocolate_MartiniTo this day, I love chocolate and I can’t seem to get enough of it.  Is it more psychological than a physical hunger or desire?  I’m not sure, but I know that if giving a zillion choices at the ice cream shop or bakery, or for anything sweet once chocolate is mentioned don’t tell me any more.  I choose the darkest chocolate I can.  Or, maybe it was my friend John who turned me on to chocolate when he gifted a group of us with Godiva chocolate.  Though I forgot the holiday it was representing, St. Valentine’s Day or Christmas, I will never forget the taste of that chocolate.  You ruined me for others, sir!  My favorite ice cream is Häagen-Dazs Belgium chocolate.  The mall by us has a Häagen-Dazs vendor stand in the middle of the food court.  Gotta know where those safe places are.

OOH my GOD… Lindt Dark Chocolate Truffles melt as soon as they hit your tongue…. and YEAH the darker the chocolate, the healthier it is for you… HA, like I need an excuse!

 

