Daily Prompt: Mirror, Mirror, On the Wall

by michelle w.

Think of your blog as a mirror: what does it reveal? Consider your blog name, theme choice, design, bio, posts… what does every element tell you about yourself?
 
th-1

Mirror, mirror on the wall
The face you’ve shown me scares me so
I thought that I could call your bluff
But now the lines are clear enough
Life’s not pretty even though
I’ve tried so hard to make it so
Mornings are such cold distress
How did I ever get into this mess

Harmless and innocent you devil in white
You stole my will without a fight
You filled me with confidence, but you blinded my eyes
You tricked me with visions of paradise
Now I realize i’m

Mirror, mirror I confess
I can’t escape this emptiness
No more reason to pretend
Here comes that same old feeling again

Snowblind, can’t live without you
So fine I just can’t get away
Won’t you throw me a lifeline
I’m going down for the third time
I’m snowblind, and I can’t get away

~~~Written by dennis de young and james young 

So, the question is posed again:  Think of your blog as a mirror: what does it reveal? Consider your blog name, theme choice, design, bio, posts… what does every element tell you about yourself?

I haven’t blogged lyrics in such a long time, but these were the first words I thought about after I read this question assignment for today.  “Paradise” is one of my all time favorite albums.  Yeah.  the “A” word that you kids can’t even begin to know or appreciate.  I’m going to miss the deadline, but eh, I’m up and can’t sleep on the cusp of a new day. 11:44pm.

My first internet persona was “dragonsigr.” This was over at aol back in the late 1980’s, early 1990’s.  It stood for “Dragon Singer, ” a book title by Anne MacCaffrey, from the Dragon Riders of Pern series.   I have since and forever been charmed by dragons.  I love that her dragons have the ability to talk with their riders, and later we find out that they can speak telepathically to anyone they choose.  Also, I love to sing and that played into wanting that name.  Dragons are beautiful. Dragons are mystical.  Dragons are wise.  The down side is that it was not a clear name and I had to explain myself all the time. Gotta love it.  Anyway, when I left aol, and by the time I was interested in a new name, I was a new mom and thought, “dragonmommie.”  So many dragon moms and the “ie” was a good way to get a unique name without losing the meaning. Plus I had a hard pregnancy, or I should say a challenging one.  Guess what, and I just found this out yesterday:  I had no idea that there is a whole culture of “dragon moms” out there.  I was torn about giving up the name and keeping it, but I’ve decided to keep it because I am a bit of a warrior, myself, when it comes to advocating for my son, so…. and I’ve had this name since 2005.  I am dragonmommie all over the net, though I don’t go scooping up the name just for that sake.

I just returned to the Mystique theme after experimenting with others.  I really like the magazine style theme, but my pictures were not all displaying on the cover page and I didn’t have the time to figure that out.  I really like the social media buttons on the top of this theme, so came back to it.  I had a photo as the background but it made the blog “too busy” so I just put a nice plain color there, a beautiful lightly colored lavender, I love lavender.  Currently, I’m working on the appearance of the blog.  I had too many widgets up and some were not working.  If I didn’t yet, I need to take down the facebook feed.  It’s blank anyway.  Also, my next target are the categories.  I have too many and I want to condense that list and stick with those that have been major trends. My goal is for a cleaner look.

My bio is just stating who I am and I try to include a lot, but I had to pare that down, though I have an ABOUT page with a longer version of me.

Posts.  Whatever I write about comes from my gut, sometimes my heart, and sometimes that gets me into trouble; but I don’t care. This is my blog and I’ll cry if I want to… heh.  I find that I simply cannot write well unless I’m passionate about it.  Oh, I’ll write, but I’m not happy unless it’s from my emotions.  My blog doesn’t really have a theme, per se.  I write about whatever hits me in the face that day.  I started this blog originally to have my words, my thoughts available to my son should I pass on before I could speak them to him, myself.  It’s that simple, but us writers will not rest until our thoughts are put out there in the universe.  I don’t have a huge readership, but that’s okay.  The STATS tell me that my voice does not fall on deaf ears completely.  I write about our experiences with Autism.  Our son is autistic and it’s been quite a ride, that I’m still on, specifically with the Public School System.  It’s not been all bad.  As a matter of fact,  it’s been one of the better stories out there.  I’m learning how to advocate for my son by taking SPAN workshops and it’s been an eye opener.  I write about platelet donation… I write about a wide variety of stuff… it’s my life, my world.

I’ve written a lot up there, but what’s scary is that I overwhelm myself.  Can I really be all these people?  Do I want to be? I have to be a mom and that encompasses a lot.  I’m living a life that is more complicated than I want it to be.  This blog helps me sort things out.  Knocking that oppression down a peg or two, I have a lot of interests with no time to devote to every single thing.  I never thought I’d go down this road, but I want to cut back on my knitting.  Saying that might brand me as a traitor, but I really like spinning in the fiber art arena so I’m going to devote more time to that.  I’ve started to whittle away at my life, my “stuff” and little by little I will get rid of things that make me feel like I’m living in a closet….. so it goes.

So for now, I’m Snowblind.  My eyes are open and see a lot of white noise…. PUMP IT UP~!

th